POLITICAL ALIGNMENTS AND SITUATION
 
Independence

 

In Africa and parts of Asia, the colonial period generally lasted only a century, sometimes less. In the Caribbean, it would extend over three, indeed four centuries.

 

Enlarge

 

Today there are some 13 independent states in the Archipelago alone (36 million population and 235 000 km²) as against 12 for the whole of South America. To these should be added around 10 non-sovereign continental, and several island, territories.

At the end of the 18th century came the first wave of decolonization, starting in North America, fanned by the French revolution, and spreading rapidly to Haiti. From the 1st January 1804, the Haitian revolution proved unique of its kind in bringing to an end at the same moment of time, the colonial system and the slave trade, and giving birth to the first black republic. Enveloping then isthmic meso-America and the South of the continent, which the Creole elites would liberate from Spanish tutelage from 1832 onwards, there would however be no immediate follow-up in the rest of the Caribbean Archipelago where the colonial order would be later removed.

It was not until the end of the 19th century that Santo Domingo, then Cuba in 1895-1901 acceded in turn to a purely theoretical freedom. Following the Second World War, 11 new island states would achieve independence, mostly in the British West Indies. Emancipation, peacefully negotiated, has proved slow in the Caribbean region. (Decolonization is all but complete in Asia and Africa.) Many would await the 1970s, and the ex-Dutch dependency of Aruba would only become independent in 1996.

In the absence of any regional ‘dynamic,' the specific context attached to each colonial empire determined the particular modalities of the process adopted, as in the case where colonies were grouped. Britain, for example, had been encouraging its Caribbean colonies to unite prior to independence, but the 'West Indian Federation' formed in 1958 soon woke up in 1962. 12 British colonies had become separate independent states by 1983. In contrast to this policy of general and gradual decolonization, preceded by an extended period of autonomy, the old French colonies of the Antilles and Guyana, integrally transformed into French ‘departments' in 1946, and Puerto Rico becoming an associated free state of the United States in 1952, in effect tightens their links with their respective colonial homelands. Several island groups like the Dutch West Indies, American Virgin Islands, as well as a few British islands, also remained under tutelage. Decolonization has therefore not been total, but the remaining non-sovereign territories in question count for only 5.1 million inhabitants, of which Puerto Rico accounts for 3.7 million.

Nourished by micro-particularisms, finely-tuned perceptions of identity, and acute sensibilities in respect of domination, the propensity towards statehood remains strong in the Archipelago. It corresponds to several scenarios: in the French departments, desire for independence expresses itself by a rejection of a situation deemed colonial, but the vague separatist impulses of Saint Martin are more directed against the Curacao government than that of the Netherlands. Finally, the territorial integrity of several pluri-insular states is threatened by secessionist movements: Nevis contests the hegemony of Saint Kitts, Tobago that of Trinidad, Barbuda that of Antigua. The political configuration of the region still has the potential to evolve further.

 

 

Dates of accession to independence

Antigua and Barbuda
01.11.1981
  El Salvador
15.09.1821
  Panama
03.11.1903
Bahamas
10.07.1973
  Grenada
07.02.1974
  Saint Kitts and Nevis
19.09.1983
Barbados
30.11.1966
  Guatemala
15.09.1821
  Saint Lucia
22.02.1979
Belize
21.09.1981
  Guyana
28.05.1966
  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
27.10.1979
Colombia
20.07.1810
  Haiti
01.01.1804
  Suriname
25.11.1975
Costa Rica
15.09.1821
  Honduras
15.09.1821
  Trinidad-et-Tobago
31.08.1962
Cuba
10.12.1898
  Jamaica
06.08.1962
  United States
04.07.1776
Dominica
03.11.1979
  Mexico
16.09.1810
  Venezuela
05.07.1811
Dominican Republic
27.02.1844
  Nicaragua
15.09.1821
     
Authors: Monique Bégot, Pascal Buleon
Translation:  : Louis Shurmer-Smith

top

SITUATION ET POSITIONNEMENTS POLITIQUES
 
Indépendances

 

En Afrique et en Asie, la période coloniale n’a duré en général qu’un siècle et parfois moins. Dans la Caraïbe elle s’étend sur plus de trois, voire de quatre siècles.

 

Agrandir

 

Aujourd’hui on ne compte pas moins de treize États indépendants pour le seul Archipel (36 millions d’habitants et 235 000 km2) contre douze pour toute l’Amérique du Sud. Il s’y ajoute une bonne dizaine d’États continentaux et quelques territoires insulaires non souverains.

À la fin du XVIIIe siècle, la première vague de décolonisation, partie des colonies d’Amérique du Nord et attisée par la Révolution française, déferlera rapidement sur Haïti. Dès le 1er janvier 1804, la Révolution haïtienne, unique en son genre puisqu’elle met fin tout à la fois au système colonial et au système esclavagiste, donna naissance à la première République noire. Embrasant ensuite l’isthme méso-américain et le sud du continent, que les élites créoles libérèrent dès 1832 de la tutelle espagnole, elle resta cependant sans suites immédiates dans le reste de l’Archipel où perdura l’ordre colonial. Il faut attendre la fin du XIXe siècle pour que Saint-Domingue, puis Cuba en 1895-1901, accèdent à leur tour à une toute théorique souveraineté. L’effondrement de l’Empire espagnol et l’affirmation des États-Unis en sont la toile de fond.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans la vague internationale de dislocation des empires et de décolonisation naissent onze nouveaux États insulaires, la plupart issus des Petites Antilles anglaises. L’émancipation, négociée et pacifique, est relativement tardive dans la région. La décolonisation est déjà presque achevée en Asie et en Afrique. Beaucoup attendront les années 1970.

En l’absence de dynamique régionale, le contexte propre à chaque empire a déterminé les modalités du processus, d’où l’évolution « groupée » des colonies de chaque métropole. Alors que le Royaume-Uni s’engage dès 1958 dans une décolonisation générale et graduelle, précédée d’une période de large autonomie, les vieilles colonies françaises des Antilles et de la Guyane, transformées en 1946 en départements français à part entière, et Porto Rico, devenue en 1952 État libre associé aux États-Unis d’Amérique, resserrent leurs liens avec leurs métropoles. Plusieurs groupes d’îles, comme les Antilles néerlandaises, les Vierges américaines et quelques îles anglaises, sont aussi restés liées aux métropoles d’origine, sous des formes elles-mêmes variées. L’accès à l’indépendance n’a donc pas été total, mais ces territoires non souverains ne totalisent que 5,1 millions d’habitants, dont 3,7 millions pour la seule Porto Rico.

Nourrie de micro-particularismes de perceptions identitaires fines et de sensibilités aiguës au sentiment de domination, la propension à la prolifération étatique reste forte dans l’Archipel. Elle correspond à plusieurs cas de figure : dans les départements français, l’indépendantisme s’exprime par un rejet d’une situation jugée coloniale, mais les velléités séparatistes de Saint-Martin sont plus dirigées contre le gouvernement de Curaçao que contre celui des Pays-Bas. Enfin, l’intégrité territoriale de certains États pluri-insulaires est menacée par des mouvements sécessionnistes : Nevis conteste l’hégémonie de Saint-Kitts, Tobago celle de Trinidad, Barbuda celle d’Antigua. La configuration politique de la région reste donc potentiellement encore évolutive.

 

 Les dates d'accession à l'indépendance
Antigua-et-Barbuda
01.11.1981
  Grenade
07.02.1974
  République dominicaine
27.02.1844
Bahamas
10.07.1973
  Guatemala
15.09.1821
  Sainte-Lucie
22.02.1979
Barbade
30.11.1966
  Guyana
28.05.1966
  Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis
19.09.1983
Belize
21.09.1981
  Haïti
01.01.1804
  Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines
27.10.1979
Colombie
20.07.1810
  Honduras
15.09.1821
  Salvador
15.09.1821
Costa Rica
15.09.1821
  Jamaïque
06.08.1962
  Suriname
25.11.1975
Cuba
10.12.1898
  Mexique
16.09.1810
  Trinidad-et-Tobago
31.08.1962
Dominique
21.02.1901
  Nicaragua
15.09.1821
  Venezuela
05.07.1811
États-Unis
04.07.1776
  Panamá
03.11.1903
     
Auteurs : Monique Bégot, Pascal Buleon

Haut