HISTORICAL EVOLUTION
 
Abolitions of slavery

 

In the Caribbean, as across the rest of the world, the 19th century was the century of the successive abolitions of slavery. For the main colonial powers of the Caribbean, namely those of Britain, France and Spain, abolition represented an undertaking of major economic, social and political significance.

Although unrelenting, the march towards abolition proved both chaotic and complex, the result of a convergence and conjunction of a number of factors linked as much to particular developments, in each Caribbean territory and colonial parent state as to relations between the latter. Beyond the impact of slave revolts and wishes for autonomy, indeed the independence of the Colonies themselves demanded by the minority local rulers, one can cite the impact of philosophical and religious movements in support of abolition, the development of political regimes within colonial governments which were more democratic and respectful of individual rights, or again general arguments emanating from free-market economics questioning the profit earning capacity of servile as opposed to free labour, as well as the competition between the farming of sugar beet and sugar cane, arguably reducing in turn the advantages of slave plantation agriculture. Neither should one ignore the political and strategic considerations facing colonial powers in competition with each other.1

The resulting interplay between such different factors produces a great diversity of situations in respect of abolition within the whole Caribbean. This paper will attempt to distinguish the main stages of the abolition of slavery, as well as its various forms of development.2

1. A century of abolitions in the Caribbean

The progressive abolition of slavery across the Caribbean region extends over a whole century, the first abolition being in Haiti in 1793 and the last in Cuba in 1886. One cannot fail to note in turn the relatively long time-scale in wowed, but also the geographical proximity between its point of origin and that of its conclusion, separated by only a few dozen nautical miles. Examination of the chronology of the abolition movement in the Caribbean (see table) suggested groupings based on adherence to particular colonial empires, dates of abolition and the geographical proximity of the territories in question. The resulting nine different categories have been mapped. Only the official dates of abolition have been used in this exercise. All the same, as will be observed later, these only partially translate the complexities of eventual emancipation.

In Haiti, the cruelty towards slaves and the intransigence of the colonists who refused the integration of the newly freed coloureds as part of a more open regime, and their participation in the assemblies born of the French Revolution, would culminate in the great insurrection of 1791. Faced with this delicate situation and the threats of both British and Spanish invasions, the commissioners of the Convention Assembly, Santhonax and Polverel proclaim the general abolition of black slavery in 1793. The national Convention confirms and applies this decision to all French colonies en 1794. However, this decree3 would not be applied to Martinique, then occupied by the British. As a consequence, this island would not experience the re-establishment decreed by Bonaparte in 1802.4

The impact of the Haitian revolution on the situation in Santo Domingo (today the Dominican Republic) allows these two territories to be grouped together. The successive abolition and re-establishments across the eastern part of the island at the mercy of political and military episodes, as well as occupations by colonial powers, would lead finally to definitive abolition in Santo Domingo in 1822. It should be remembered that in Haiti, the abolition of 1793 did not prevent the establishment of a forced labour regime, not far removed from that of slavery, and in the service of a rapidly constituted coloured landed aristocracy. In contradictory manner, the abolition in Haiti and its own independence led for a time, by favouring a rise in the price of sugar, to the slave-based plantation system becoming more profitable. For whatever reason, Haiti would thereby enjoy veritable prestige amongst those candidates aspiring to freedom.

Often forgotten amongst non-hispanicists was the fact that the small states of Central America, including Mexico, had abolished slavery in the 1820s.5 The numbers held in captivity were relatively small, and none of these states were economically dependent on slave labour for their prosperity and power. The influence of abolitionist Quaker movements and the progressive principles contained in the Declaration of the Rights of Man6 in the northern states of the American federation would prove decisive in their support of the abolitionist movement in these territories. Note that the abolition of slavery in Mexico in 1829 would lead in part to the break away and independence of Texas (in 1836), where slavery would persist for much longer.

In Britain, in 1833, the King would sign the Emancipation Bill voted par Parliament. This abolition represented in particular an economic disengagement by the British Crown in favour of its Asian possessions, and notably the East Indies, with their much greater development potential than the small islands of the Caribbean. Abolition of slavery in the French colonies (1848) must be credited to the 1848 Revolution and the Abolition Laws of the Second Republic under the impulse notably of Victor Schœlcher. Abolition takes effect immediately and allows access to citizenship. Colombia and Venezuela finally abolish slavery relatively late by comparison with other states in the region, in particular those of Central America, despite their geographical proximity.

Further north, in the United States, the abolition issue is not viewed as a colonial problem, but as a question internal to the Federation itself. The strength of the abolitionist movement (viz the popular success of Uncle Tom's Cabin7 in 1852) but also the capitalist ambitions of the North aimed at subordinating the South, would play an important role in triggering the Civil War. President Lincoln proclaimed a general emancipation in 1863, confirmed in the 13th amendment to the Constitution in 1865. The victory of the North would lead to the end of slavery over the whole of the Union.

Finally, abolition took effect in Puerto Rico en 1873, then in Cuba in 1886. In Cuba, the economic conditions favouring the maintenance of sugar cane production in the context of large-scale, industrialised plantations, associating what remained of both slave and free labour, with the power balance between a landed aristocracy and a Spanish colonial power in decline, would allow more than elsewhere the survival of the slave plantation system. Here one sees the whole contrast with powers like Britain and France engaged in the process of capitalist industrialisation and Spain now in decline.

In short, as can be observed in the map, the geographical spread of abolition was not achieved uniformly across the Caribbean. Neither was the process of abolition itself similar everywhere. Indeed, the official dates retained for this cartographic exercise do not always reflect the complexity of the process of abolitions across the Caribbean.

2. The circumstances of emancipation

First attempts, partial abolitions, preparatory measures and apprenticeship

It should be noted at the outset that abolitions were sometimes only achieved after several attempts, as already seen in the case of certain French colonies (Guadeloupe, Guiana and the Spanish part of Santo Domingo,8 Hispaniola).

In France, following the re-establishment decided by Napoleon Bonaparte, the July Monarchy would introduce measures favourable towards emancipation during the 1830s. In 1845, the Mackau Acts9 “alleviate” the conditions of slavery, before its final abolition in 1848. In Venezuela, a first abolition is introduced by Bolivar in 1816. In this case, it represented one of the conditions of Haitian aid from Pétion, Haiti's first president, against Spanish power. Note also that the abolition in question was limited to single men accepting enrolment for military service. It would be repeated by the conservative ruling elites. Full abolition came in 1854. In Mexico, it full abolition came only in 1929, a partial abolition was introduced from 1821 onwards for individuals born in the country.

In the British colonies, abolition was paired with a period of apprenticeship, i.e. a progressive emancipation at the end of which the former slave would obtain real freedom. The length of the period of apprenticeship varied as between those slaves on the plantations, and those in domestic and urban service.10 In some British islands, this transition period towards a new individual status would only last one year (Antigua and Barbuda, St. Vincent). In practice, emancipation in the British islands was achieved in by 1838. In 1847, freedom was given to all the newborn in the Danish colony of St. Croix, before final abolition one year later. The Moret Act ushering in gradual abolition, voted by the Spanish Cortez in 1870, would only grant general emancipation in Puerto Rico in 1873 and in Cuba in 1886. In Cuba, children about to be born and slaves aged over 60 years obtained their liberty in 1870; the remaining servile population would have to wait more than another ten years.

Two models in use for bringing about emancipation are normally contrasted. The British model giving progressive freedom was the most widespread, whilst the French model granted immediate freedom. In contrast to Britain, abolitions in the French colonial empire are linked to revolutionary crises and democratic protest movements. By their very nature, these were subject to reconsideration driven by national political events.

The consequences of phased abolitions

Given the geographical proximity to each other of Caribbean territories, it seems natural to consider the consequences of such passed abolitions. Abolition in the British colonies led to the flight of slaves, notably from nearby French colonies, always a large-scale point of departure. But it would be wrong to consider abolition as marking the systematic onset of a new era. The latter did not resolve all problems and living conditions did not always radically change for the populations in question. Much more the case was that the proximity of “lands of freedom” reinforced the impatience of slaves.

Abolition and independence

Whatever the case, it is important to underline that slavery constitutes a strong element in the construction of national identities across the Caribbean. Given that not all the territories of the Caribbean today have achieved full independence, it would seem of particular interest to relate chronologically dates of abolition with those of independence, in the attempt to see ways in which the former would leave its mark on future decolonisation. However, it is first necessary to acknowledge two distinct chronologies. In the case of the mainland territories, independence precedes the abolition of slavery as against the contrary situation for the island territories where, with the exception of Haiti, the question of abolition does not directly impact on that of independence. In effect, the island territories only achieve independence during the 20th century, in several cases more than 100 years after the abolition of slavery... For the major geopolitical powers that dominate the Caribbean in the 19th century, in no case was abolition associated with independence, i.e. as synonymous with the loss of colonial status. Should one then see in the earliest abolitions achieved across the already independent continental mainland territories, a will to rally whole populations around the idea of “the nation”? In reality, liberty does not necessarily chime well with equality.

Finally, Haiti and Cuba – points à both departure and arrival in the whole history of propagating the abolition of slavery in the Caribbean – constitute two cases apart. Haiti is at one and the same time the original model for those aspirants of liberty, but also a pathway to avoid for representatives of the political leaders of these regions, whether or not for or against abolition... Cuba, fort its part, represents the last symbol of abolition, stemming without any doubt as much from the strength of the conservatism of the Creole elites, as from their capacity to develop the industrialisation of sugar cane production. Note that today these two states still continue each to maintain their singularity within the Caribbean.

Finally, it should noted that the abolitions almost everywhere across the Caribbean would seek recourse to a so-called “free” labour force, under contract, and originating from Asia, a process that no one would immediately recognise as a second slavery.


Enlarge


Chronology of the abolition of slavery in the Caribbean
  First abolition Final abolition of slavery
Date of independence
Haiti   1793 1804
Dominican Republic
 1801 1822 1844
Costa Rica
  1824 1821
El Salvador   1824 1821
Guatemala   1824 1821
Honduras   1824 1821
Mexico   1829 1810
British West Indies
Anguilla
Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas
Barbados
Belize
Cayman Islands
Dominica
Grenada
Guyana
Virgin Islands
Jamaica
Montserrat
Turks and Caicos Islands
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
St. Vincent and Grenadines
Trinidad and Tobago
 
1833-1838
1833-1834
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1834
1833-1838


1981
1973
1966
1981

1978
1974
1966

1962


1983
1979
1979
1962
Nicaragua   1838 1821
Danish Virgin Islands
Saint John
Saint Thomas
Saint Croix
 
1846-1848
1846-1848
1846-1848
 
Swedish Antilles
Saint Barthelemy
 
1847
 
French Antilles
Guaealoupe
Guiana
Martinique
Saint Martín (French zone)
1794
1848
1848
1848
1848
 
Colombia 1814 1851 1810
Panama   1851 1903
Venezuela 1816 1854 1811
Netherlands Antilles
Aruba
Curacao
Bonaire
Saba
Saint Eustatius
Suriname
St. Martin (Netherlands zone)
 
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863






1975

United States
  1863-1865 1776
Puerto Rico   1873  
Cuba   1880-1886 1898
NB: Names of national boundaries and states are those in use today. At the time of abolition, Panama was part of Greater Colombia; Belize was part of British Honduras.


1 Britain did not hesitate for example to view abolition as a destabilising element against rival powers, notably France.

2 Without doubt it might have been interesting to suggest a typology of abolition based on ways in which freedom was achieved (by force, concession, negotiation...), however the different circumstances quickly appeared highly complex and not easily reduced to a global approach by historians. Elsewhere they remain the subject of widespread “politicised” polemic as to the implicit degree of direct line descent of present population with the rebel slaves of the past.

3 Decree of the National Convention “who abolished slavery of the negroes in the colonies.”

4 Any implication that Josephine played a role in the re-establishment of slavery is pure fantasy.

5 Well before, it should be emphasised, Britain and France.

6 Reference to the 10 first amendments of the United States Constitution.

7 By the North American author, Harriet Beecher Stowe.

8 In Haiti, it is generally accepted that freedom was fully acquired across the whole country under the presidency of Jean-Pierre Boyer (1818-1843).

9 These laws remain limited in extent: the right to education, possibility of creating savings and buying one's freedom, defined hours of work.

10 Ended in 1840 for plantation slaves and 1838 for urban and domestic slaves.



Bibliography 

 

Beckles Hilary, Shepherd Verne, Caribbean Freedom Economy and Society from emancipation to the present, Ian Randle Publishers, Kingston, Jamaica, 1993, 581 p.

 

Chauleau Liliane (textes réunis par), Les abolitions dans les Amériques, Société des Amis des Archives, Fort-de-France, 2001, 143 p.

 

Crusol Jean, « Abolition et transitions post-esclavagistes dans les sociétés insulaires de la Caraïbe », in Les Caraïbes dans la géopolitique mondiale, Editions Ellipses, Paris, 2007, p. 49-86.

 

Dorigny Marcel (textes réunis par), Les abolitions de l'esclavage, Presses universitaires de Vincennes, ONU, Paris, 1998, 415 p.

 

Dorigny Marcel, Gainot Bernard, Atlas des esclavages, Editions Autrement, Paris, 2006, 79 p.

 

Elisabeth Léo, Mémoires de la société d'Histoire de la Martinique, « L'abolition de l'esclavage à la Martinique », n° 5, 1983, Fort-de-France, 155 p.

 

Esclavages, Les cahiers du patrimoine, n° 21-22, tome 3, Fort-de-France, 2007, 116 p.

 

Fallope Josette, Esclaves et citoyens, les noirs à la Guadeloupe au XIXe siècle, Société d'Histoire de la Guadeloupe, Basse-Terre, 1992, 713 p.

 

Regent Frédéric, La France et ses esclaves, Grasset, Paris, 2007, 354 p.

 

Rochmann Marie-Christine (sous la direction de), Esclavage et abolitions, Karthala, Paris, 2000, 315 p.

 

Schmidt Nelly, L'engrenage de la liberté Caraïbes – XIXe siècle, Publication de l'Université de Provence, Aix-en-Provence, 1995, 257 p.

 

Yacou Alain, « Les rebellions nègres à Cuba dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle : contenu idéologique et programme subversif » in Bulletin de la société d'Histoire de la Guadeloupe, n° 59, 1er trimestre 1984, p. 77-108.

Author: Yvan Bertin

top

ÉVOLUTIONS HISTORIQUES
 
Abolitions de l'esclavage

 

Dans la Caraïbe, comme dans le reste du monde, le XIXe siècle fut le siècle des abolitions de l'esclavage. Pour les principales puissances coloniales de la Caraïbe que sont alors l'Angleterre, la France et l'Espagne, l'abolition représente un enjeu économique, social et politique majeur.

La marche vers l'abolition, bien qu'inexorable, est un phénomène chaotique et complexe résultant de la convergence et de la conjonction d'un certain nombre de facteurs tenant tant aux évolutions propres à chaque territoire caribéen et aux métropoles coloniales qu'aux relations entre ces différents espaces. Au-delà de l'impact des révoltes d'esclaves et de la volonté d'autonomie, voire d'indépendance des colonies à l'initiative des minorités dirigeantes locales, on peut citer l'impact des mouvements philosophiques et religieux en faveur de l'abolition, les évolutions des régimes politiques au sein des puissances coloniales plus démocratiques et respectueux des droits individuels, ou encore des facteurs d'ordre économique comme la remise en question – sous l'influence des économistes libéraux – de la rentabilité économique du travail servile par rapport au travail libre et la concurrence exercée par la culture de la betterave vis-à-vis de la canne à sucre, ce qui réduit d'autant l'intérêt de l'agriculture de plantation esclavagiste. Les considérations politiques et stratégiques des métropoles coloniales, en concurrence entre elles, ne doivent pas non plus être négligées1.

De la conjonction de ces différents facteurs, il ressort en conséquence une grande diversité des situations quant aux abolitions au sein de l'ensemble caribéen. On s'attachera à mettre en évidence les grandes étapes de ces abolitions ainsi que les modalités de leur mise en œuvre2.

1. Un siècle d'abolitions dans la Caraïbe

Les abolitions de l'esclavage dans la Caraïbe s'échelonnèrent sur un siècle, la première abolition s'étant produite à Haïti en 1793 et la dernière à Cuba en 1886. On ne peut manquer dès lors de remarquer la durée relativement longue de propagation du phénomène dans la Caraïbe, mais aussi la proximité géographique entre son point d'origine et de terminaison, séparés seulement par quelques dizaines de miles nautiques. La lecture de la chronologie de l'abolition dans la Caraïbe (cf. tableau) nous a incité à opérer des regroupements en fonction de l'appartenance aux Empires coloniaux, des dates de l'abolition et de la proximité géographique des territoires. Il en résulte neuf situations différentes, retranscrites sur la carte. Les dates des abolitions officielles ont été retenues pour réaliser ce document. Toutefois, comme on l'observera par la suite, elles ne traduisent que partiellement la complexité de l'émancipation.

À Haïti, la cruauté envers les esclaves et l'intransigeance des colons qui refusèrent l'intégration des Libres de couleur dans le processus d'ouverture politique et leur participation aux assemblées issues du processus révolutionnaire français, aboutit à la grande insurrection de 1791. Face à cette situation délicate et devant les menaces d'invasions anglaises et espagnoles, les commissaires de la Convention Santhonax et Polverel proclament l'abolition générale des Noirs en 1793. La Convention confirme et généralise cette décision à toutes les colonies françaises en 1794. Cependant, ce décret3ne sera pas appliqué à la Martinique, alors occupée par les Anglais. Par conséquent, cette île ne connaît pas le rétablissement décidé en 1802 par Bonaparte4.

L'influence de la Révolution haïtienne sur la situation à Saint-Domingue (actuelle République dominicaine) permet de regrouper ces deux territoires. Les abolitions et les rétablissements successifs sur la partie Est de l'île au gré des épisodes politiques, militaires et des occupations par les puissances coloniales aboutirent finalement à une abolition définitive à Saint-Domingue en 1822. Rappelons qu'à Haïti, l'abolition de 1793 n'empêcha pas la mise en place d'un régime de travail forcé, pas très éloigné dans les faits de l'esclavage et au service d'une aristocratie foncière de couleur rapidement constituée. De façon contradictoire, l'abolition à Haïti et l'indépendance de ce territoire ont, en favorisant la hausse du prix du sucre, rendu pour un temps plus rentable le système de l'habitation-sucrerie esclavagiste. Quoi qu'il en soit, Haïti bénéficie alors dans la Caraïbe d'un véritable prestige auprès des candidats à la liberté.

Phénomène souvent oublié des non hispanistes, les petits États d'Amérique centrale ainsi que le Mexique abolirent l'esclavage dans les années 18205. Le nombre de captifs y était relativement réduit et aucun de ces États ne dépendait d'une économie fondée sur le travail servile pour sa prospérité et sa puissance. L'influence des mouvements abolitionnistes quakers et des principes progressistes contenus dans la Déclaration des droits6 des États du Nord de la fédération américaine ont été déterminants pour le processus abolitionniste de ces États. Signalons que l'abolition de l'esclavage au Mexique, en 1829, induisit en partie la scission et l'indépendance du Texas (en 1836), où l'esclavage perdurera plus longtemps.

En Angleterre, en 1833, le roi sanctionne le bill d'émancipation générale voté par le Parlement. Cette abolition témoigne surtout d'un désengagement économique de la Couronne au profit des territoires asiatiques, et en particulier des Indes orientales, aux perspectives de développement beaucoup plus intéressantes que les petites îles de la Caraïbe. L'abolition dans les colonies françaises (1848) est à mettre au crédit de la Révolution de 1848 et de l'instauration des lois d'abolition de la Seconde République sous l'impulsion notamment de Victor Schœlcher. L'abolition est immédiate et permet l'accès à la citoyenneté. La Colombie et le Venezuela abolirent définitivement l'esclavage relativement tardivement par rapport aux autres États de la région et en particulier les États d'Amérique centrale pourtant géographiquement proches.

Plus au Nord, aux États-Unis, le problème de l'abolition n'est pas un problème colonial mais une question interne à la Fédération. La force du mouvement abolitionniste – on rappellera à cet égard le succès de La case de l'Oncle Tom7en 1852 – mais aussi les ambitions des capitalistes du Nord visant à soumettre le Sud, jouèrent un rôle important dans le déclenchement de la guerre de Sécession. Le Président Lincoln proclama l'abolition générale en 1863. Celle-ci fut consacrée par le treizième amendement de la Constitution en 1865 ; la victoire des États du Nord entraîna la fin de l'esclavage dans l'ensemble de l'Union.

Enfin, l'abolition fut effective à Porto Rico en 1873, puis à Cuba en 1886. À Cuba, les conditions économiques favorables au maintien de la culture de la canne à sucre dans le cadre de la grande exploitation industrialisée, associant du reste main-d'œuvre servile et libre, les jeux de pouvoir entre aristocratie foncière et la puissance coloniale espagnole en déclin permirent, plus longtemps qu'ailleurs, le maintien du système esclavagiste. On saisit alors toute la différence entre des puissances comme l'Angleterre et la France engagées dans le processus d'industrialisation capitaliste et l'Espagne alors en déclin.

En somme, comme il est possible de l'observer sur la carte, la progression spatiale de l'abolition ne s'est pas réalisée de façon homogène au sein de l'espace caribéen. Le processus d'abolition ne l'a pas été davantage. En effet, les dates officielles retenues pour ce travail de cartographie ne reflètent pas toujours la complexité du processus des abolitions dans la Caraïbe.

2. Les conditions de l'émancipation

Tentatives, abolitions partielles, mesures préparatoires et apprentissage

Il convient de noter au préalable que les abolitions n'ont parfois été réalisées qu'au bout de plusieurs tentatives comme nous l'avons déjà vu pour le cas de certaines colonies françaises (Guadeloupe, Guyane et partie espagnole de Saint-Domingue8, Hispaniola).

En France, après le rétablissement décidé par Napoléon Bonaparte, la monarchie de Juillet prend des mesures favorables aux affranchissements dans les années 1830. En 1845, les lois Mackau9 « adoucissent » l'esclavage, avant sa suppression définitive en 1848. Au Venezuela, une première abolition fut instituée par Bolivar en 1816. Il s'agissait là de l'une des conditions de l'aide haïtienne de Pétion, premier Président d'Haïti, contre la puissance espagnole. Précisons que cette abolition se limitait alors aux seuls hommes sous condition de leur engagement militaire. Elle fut rapidement remise en question par les élites dirigeantes conservatrices. L'abolition définitive intervient en 1854. Au Mexique, si l'abolition définitive fut décidée en 1929, une abolition partielle fut accordée dès 1821 aux individus nés sur ce territoire.

Dans les colonies anglaises, l'abolition a été assortie d'une période d'apprentissage, soit une émancipation progressive au terme de laquelle l'ancien esclave obtenait réellement sa liberté. La durée de cette période d'apprentissage fut variable entre le cas des esclaves des plantations et celui des esclaves domestiques et urbains10. Dans certaines îles anglaises, cette période de transition vers le nouveau statut individuel ne dura qu'une seule année (Antigua-et-Barbuda, Saint-Vincent). Dans les faits, on peut considérer l'émancipation acquise en 1838 pour les îles anglaises. En 1847, la liberté est accordée aux nouveau-nés à Sainte-Croix, colonie danoise, avant l'abolition définitive une année plus tard. La loi Moret d'abolition graduelle votée par les Cortès espagnoles en 1870, n'accorde la liberté générale à Porto Rico qu'en 1873 et à Cuba en 1886. À Cuba, les enfants à naître et les esclaves de plus de 60 ans obtiennent la liberté en 1870 ; le reste de la population servile devant attendre encore plus d'une dizaine d'années.

On retiendra qu'il est d'usage d'opposer deux modèles d'émancipation. Le modèle anglais d'émancipation progressive – le plus largement répandu – et le modèle français d'émancipation immédiate. A la différence de l'Angleterre, les abolitions dans l'empire colonial français sont liées aux crises révolutionnaires et aux revendications démocratiques. Elles furent sujettes, de par leur origine même, à des remises en cause au gré des évolutions politiques nationales.

Les conséquences des abolitions décalées

Il est possible de s'interroger quant aux conséquences de ces abolitions décalées, au regard de la proximité des territoires dans la Caraïbe. L'abolition dans les colonies britanniques entraîna la fuite d'esclaves, notamment des colonies françaises proches. Point de départ massif toutefois. De surcroît, on aurait tort de considérer l'abolition comme la marque de l'entrée systématique dans une nouvelle ère. Celle-ci ne règle pas tous les problèmes et les conditions de vie ne semblent pas toujours changer radicalement pour les populations. Il semble surtout que la proximité de « terres de liberté » ait renforcé l'impatience des captifs.

Abolition et indépendance

Quoi qu'il en soit, il convient de souligner que l'esclavage apparaît tel un élément fort de la constitution des identités nationales dans la Caraïbe et bien que tous les territoires de la Caraïbe ne soient pas aujourd'hui indépendants, il s'avère particulièrement intéressant de replacer chronologiquement les dates d'abolition par rapport à celles des indépendances afin de tenter de comprendre comment les abolitions s'inscrivent dans la perspective future de la décolonisation. Il importe alors de relever deux chronologies distinctes. Pour les territoires continentaux, l'indépendance précède l'abolition de l'esclavage alors qu'il s'agit du contraire pour les territoires insulaires où, mis à part Haïti, la question de l'abolition ne débouche pas directement sur celle de l'indépendance. En effet, les territoires insulaires accédèrent à l'indépendance au XXe siècle, parfois plus de 100 ans après les abolitions… Pour les grandes puissances géopolitiques qui dominent la Caraïbe au XIXe siècle, l'abolition n'était en aucune mesure associée à l'indépendance, synonyme de la perte de la colonie. Doit-on voir dans les abolitions plus précoces, décidées sur des territoires continentaux déjà indépendants, une volonté de rassembler l'ensemble de la population autour de l'idée de « nation » ? Dans les faits, liberté rime difficilement avec égalité.

Finalement, Haïti et Cuba – points de départ et d'arrivée du processus de propagation de l'abolition de l'esclavage dans la Caraïbe – constituent deux cas à part. Haïti est à la fois le modèle originel pour les aspirants à la liberté, mais également une voie à éviter pour les représentants des pouvoirs politiques de ces régions, qu'ils soient partisans ou non de l'abolition… Cuba, représente pour sa part, le dernier avatar de l'abolition, du fait sans nul doute tant de la force du conservatisme des élites créoles que de leur capacité à développer l'industrialisation de la canne. Notons, aujourd'hui encore, que ces deux États se singularisent au sein de l'espace caribéen.

Il importe de souligner qu'en définitive les abolitions entraînèrent, un peu partout dans la Caraïbe, le recours à une main-d'œuvre dite libre, sous contrat et en provenance d'Asie, processus dans lequel d'aucuns ont pu voir un second esclavage.

 

Agrandir


Chronologie de l'abolition de l'esclavage dans la Caraïbe
  Première
abolition
Abolition de l'esclavage Date d'indépendance
Haïti   1793 1804
République dominicaine 1801 1822 1844
Costa Rica   1824 1821
Guatemala   1824 1821
Honduras   1824 1821
Salvador   1824 1821
Mexique   1829 1810
Antilles anglaises
Anguilla
Antigua-et-Barbuda
Bahamas
Barbade
Belize
Caïman
Dominique
Grenade
Guyana
Iles Vierges
Jamaïque
Montserrat
Turks-et-Caïcos
Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis
Sainte-Lucie
Saint-Vincent-et-Grenadines
Trinidad-et-Tobago
 
1833-1838
1833-1834
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1838
1833-1834
1833-1838


1981
1973
1966
1981

1978
1974
1966

1962


1983
1979
1979
1962
Nicaragua   1838 1821
Iles Vierges danoises 
Saint John
Saint Thomas
Sainte-Croix
 
1846-1848
1846-1848
1846-1848
 
Antille suédoise
Saint-Barthélémy
 
1847
 
Antilles françaises
Guadeloupe
Guyane
Martinique
Saint-Martin (française)
1794
1848
1848
1848
1848
 
Colombie 1814 1851 1810
Panamá   1851 1903
Venezuela 1816 1854 1811
Antilles néerlandaises
Aruba
Curaçao
Bonaire
Saba
Saint Eustatius
Suriname
Saint-Martin (néerlandaise)
 
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863
1863






1975

États-Unis   1863-1865 1776
Porto Rico   1873  
Cuba   1880-1886 1898
NB : Les noms des frontières et des pays sont ceux d'aujourd'hui. À l'époque de l'abolition, le Panamá faisait partie de la Grande Colombie, le Belize s'appelait le Honduras britannique.

1 L'Angleterre n'hésita pas par exemple à envisager l'abolition comme un élément de déstabilisation des puissances rivales, en particulier la France.

2 Il aurait sans doute été intéressant de proposer une typologie de l'abolition basée sur les modalités d'accession à la liberté (liberté arrachée, octroyée, négociée…), cependant les différentes situations nous sont rapidement apparues fort complexes et non abordées de façon globale par les historiens. Par ailleurs, elles demeurent sujettes à de nombreuses polémiques « politiciennes » quant à la filiation implicite des populations actuelles avec les esclaves révoltés de l'époque.

3 Décret de la Convention nationale « Qui abolit l'Esclavage des Nègres dans les colonies ».

4 Toute implication de Joséphine dans le rétablissement de l'esclavage relève donc du fantasme.

5 Bien avant, faut-il le souligner, l'Angleterre et la France.

6 Il s'agit des dix premiers amendements de la Constitution des États-Unis.

7 De la nord-américaine Harriet Beecher Stowe.

8À Haïti, on peut considérer la liberté comme réellement acquise sur l'ensemble du territoire sous la Présidence de Jean-Pierre Boyer (1818-1843).

9 Ces lois restent d'une portée limitée : droit à l'instruction, possibilité de se constituer un pécule et de se racheter, horaires de travail précis.

10 Elle devait se terminer en 1840 pour les esclaves de plantations et en 1838 pour les esclaves domestiques et urbains.



Bibliographie


Beckles Hilary, Shepherd Verne, Caribbean freedom economy and society from emancipation to the present, Ian Randle Publishers, Kingston, Jamaica, 1993, 581 p.

 

Chauleau Liliane (textes réunis par), Les abolitions dans les Amériques, Société des Amis des Archives, Fort-de-France, 2001, 143 p.

 

Crusol Jean, « Abolition et transitions post-esclavagistes dans les sociétés insulaires de la Caraïbe », in Les Caraïbes dans la géopolitique mondiale, Éditions Ellipses, Paris, 2007, p. 49-86.

 

Dorigny Marcel (textes réunis par), Les abolitions de l'esclavage, Presses universitaires de Vincennes, ONU, Paris, 1998, 415 p.

 

Dorigny Marcel, GAINOT Bernard, Atlas des esclavages, Éditions Autrement, Paris, 2006, 79 p.

 

Elisabeth Léo, Mémoires de la société d'Histoire de la Martinique, « L'abolition de l'esclavage à la Martinique », n° 5, 1983, Fort-de-France, 155 p.

 

Esclavages, Les cahiers du patrimoine, n° 21-22, tome 3, Fort-de-France, 2007, 116 p.

 

Fallope Josette, Esclaves et citoyens, les noirs à la Guadeloupe au XIXe siècle, Société d'Histoire de la Guadeloupe, Basse-Terre, 1992, 713 p.

 

Regent Frédéric, La France et ses esclaves, Grasset, Paris, 2007, 354 p.

 

Rochmann Marie-Christine (sous la direction de), Esclavage et abolitions, Karthala, Paris, 2000, 315 p.

 

Schmidt Nelly, L'engrenage de la liberté Caraïbes – XIXe siècle, Publication de l'Université de Provence, Aix-en-Provence, 1995, 257 p.

 

Yacou Alain, « Les rebellions nègres à Cuba dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle : contenu idéologique et programme subversif » in Bulletin de la société d'Histoire de la Guadeloupe, n° 59, 1er trimestre 1984, p. 77-108.

 

Auteur : Yvan Bertin

Haut