POLITICAL ALIGNMENTS AND SITUATION
 
Backyard of the United States

 

With all its overwhelming power, the United States' presence bears down on a politically and economically fragile Caribbean, without real resistance or competition. 

 

Enlarge

 

Since the affirmation of their influence in the 19th century, varying constructions of American policy (Monroe Doctrine, Panamericanism) have viewed the Caribbean as a private hunting ground. The war with Spain (1898) inaugurated a long period of meddling and interventions, sometimes brutal, other times more discrete, intended to install, reestablish or reinforce the American presence in the region. Since the beginning of the 20th century, the United States have made and unmade, the governments of weak states in Central America in order to safeguard the interests of their multinationals. The Cold War saw their interventionism further reinforced: so in 1954 they were actively involved in Guatemala with the removal of Colonel Arbenz who had launched a massive programme of agrarian reform to the detriment of the all powerful United Fruit Company. In 1983, in Grenada, then in 1993, in Panama, they did not hesitate to intervene militarily. The erasing of European power in the region left the field clear, “Poor Caribbean, so far from God and so near to the United States,” to paraphrase the Mexican president Diaz.

The Cuban revolution in 1959 suddenly pushed the Caribbean to the top of the American agenda; with the missile crisis in 1962, it was the setting for the last, and one of the most dangerous, episodes of the Cold War. Since the ‘détente' and the disappearance of the ‘eastern bloc,' the ideological and military stakes in the region have markedly lessened. Nevertheless, the United States keeps an attentive watch on the Caribbean. A point of transit for a major share of the drugs traffic supplying the north American market (40% of cocaine passes via the islands route), it is also the route by which important flows of clandestine immigrants (particularly Haitians and Cubans) seek entry to the United States, as well being used for contraband goods from south-east Asia.

Thus in every domain of regional life, the United States have become the dominant player. Physically present by virtue of its five southern states, but also through the associated state of Puerto Rico as well as their dependencies (US Virgin Islands), they maintain an important military contingent within the region (the Guantanamo base in Cuba, bases in Panama until the end of 1999). The US dollar appears de facto to be the principal currency used in the region; in turn, their multinationals are omnipresent, especially in Central America which offers greater potential for agriculture and mining, than do the islands. They keep a direct watch on developments in Haiti, work unrelentingly against Cuba (Helms Burton Act), and through applied pressure, have obtained the right to intervene against drug traffickers in the sea and air-lanes of several ‘independent' states.

The Caribbean Basin Initiative (CBI) launched in 1982 by president Ronald Reagan, the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the re-launch in 1994 by Bill Clinton of the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) project, and its follow-up by the Bush administration, all tend towards an even greater integration of the region within a vast organizational space dominated by the United States. By reinforcing regional solidarities and developing links with other partners (Europe), the countries of the region seek to escape from an overly exclusive and unequal ‘tête-á-tête.'

Authors: Monique Bégot, Patrice Roth

top

SITUATION ET POSITIONNEMENTS POLITIQUES
 
Arrière-cour des États-Unis

 

Les États-Unis pèsent de toute leur écrasante puissance sur une Caraïbe politiquement et économiquement fragile, sans véritable résistance ni concurrence.

 

Agrandir

 

Depuis l’affirmation de leur puissance au XIXe siècle, les différentes constructions de la politique américaine des États-Unis (doctrine Monroe, panaméricanisme) ont pensé la Caraïbe comme une chasse gardée. La guerre avec l’Espagne (1898) inaugura une longue série d’ingérences et d’interventions, parfois brutales, parfois plus discrètes, destinées à instaurer, à rétablir ou à conforter l’ordre américain dans la région. Dès le début du XXe siècle, les États-Unis ont fait et défait les gouvernements des fragiles États d’Amérique centrale pour garantir les intérêts de leurs multinationales. La guerre froide vit encore leur interventionnisme se renforcer : ainsi, en 1954, ils participent activement au renversement au Guatemala du colonel Arbenz qui avait entrepris une vaste réforme agraire au détriment de la toute puissante United Fruit. En 1983, à Grenade, puis, en 1989, à Panamá, ils n’hésitent pas à intervenir militairement. L’effacement des puissances européennes dans la région leur a laissé le champ libre : « Pauvre Caraïbe, si loin de Dieu et si près des États-Unis », pour paraphraser ce que disait le président Díaz à propos du Mexique. La révolution cubaine en 1959 avait brutalement mis la Caraïbe au premier plan des préoccupations américaines ; elle a été le théâtre en 1962 (crise des fusées) de la dernière et d’une des plus dangereuses crises de la guerre froide.

Depuis la détente et la disparition du « bloc de l’Est », l’enjeu idéologique et militaire de la région s’est fortement estompé. Les États-Unis gardent pourtant sur la Caraïbe un regard attentif en particulier pour leur sécurité propre et leurs intérêts stratégiques. Au regard de ceux-ci, la Caraïbe est une zone de transit d'une grande partie de la drogue qui alimente le marché nord-américain, de passage des superpétroliers, et le débouché du canal de Panamá ; c’est aussi par là que cherchent à pénétrer aux États-Unis des flux importants d’immigrants clandestins (Haïtiens, Cubains) ainsi que les produits de contrebande d’Asie du Sud-Est.

Les États-Unis sont toujours dans tous les domaines l'acteur essentiel de la vie régionale. Présents physiquement par cinq de leurs États mais aussi par l’État associé de Porto Rico et par leurs dépendances (îles Vierges US), ils entretiennent dans la région un important dispositif militaire (base de Guantánamo à Cuba, les bases de Panamá ont été rétrocédées en 1999), leur monnaie apparaît de facto comme la principale monnaie régionale, leurs multinationales sont présentes, surtout en Amérique centrale, qui offre plus de potentialités agricoles et minières que les îles. Ils veillent directement à l’évolution d’Haïti, ont maintenu un blocus de Cuba (loi Helms Burton), obtiennent le droit d’intervenir contre les trafiquants de drogue dans les espaces maritimes et aériens de plusieurs États.

Les dernières décennies du XXe siècle ont vu naître différentes initiatives de structuration économico-politique de la zone, CBI (Caribbean Basin Initiative) en 1982, ALÉNA (Accord de libre-échange nord-américain), ZLEA (Zone de libre-échange des Amériques) relancé par Bill Clinton, sommets des Amériques. Toutes ces initiatives, avec les marques de leur temps et le style de chaque présidence vont dans le sens d’une intégration renouvelée de la région à une aire d’influence directe des États-Unis. En dehors de l’opposition frontale de Cuba et du Venezuela, les États de la région participent, avec toutes les nuances, à ces dispositifs, en même temps qu’ils cherchent à sortir d’un tête-à-tête trop exclusif et inégal par le renforcement de solidarités régionales et le développement de liens avec d’autres partenaires avec l’Amérique du Sud (MERCOSUR) avec l’Europe et plus nouvellement avec l’Asie.

Auteurs : Patrice Roth, Monique Bégot, Pascal Buleon

Haut