POPULATION
 
Ageing of the population (2005-2020)

 

It might appear untimely to be interested in the ageing of the Caribbean's population, given that some of its countries have barely attained their demographic transition, and that others are only a the early expanding stage of the classic sequence. However, the ageing of a population, even if today appearing seemingly insignificant, may become an over-riding preoccupation in the short term for both national and local authorities. The difficulties currently facing so-called developed countries in managing both the immediate and longer term consequences of their ageing demographic structures is but a glimpse of what awaits the countries of the Caribbean in the next 20 years, and for two principal reasons:

  • The population totals in question for certain states (Mexico, Colombia) find no parallels with these already evident in ‘Old Europe.' The inflated numbers are the direct inheritance of the demographic transition and the consequent raises in population during phase I (high birth rate / rapidly declining mortality rate).
  • The support systems for the aged are little developed, and the management of old age and the costs of dependency are left to the families themselves.

The initial consequence for the longer term of the demographic transition cycle is a progressive ageing of a country's population, commonly referred to as the post-transitional phase. The generations born during this early phase of the transition will themselves produce-growing contingent of newly born who one day will grow old. The UNESCO forecast at the end of 2000 already appeared alarmist: “(...) ageing will obtain spectacular proportions in the developing world (...), countries like Brazil, Mexico, Nigeria will see their aged population increase fifteen-fold (...).”

1. Current situation

Pre ageing of demographic structures in the Caribbean is still only in its initial stage, but already it is possible to identify different trends in relation to the proportion represented by the over 64 age group by comparison to the youngest cohort (less than 14 years). The old age index based on this ratio between the youngest and the oldest is around 28 for the Caribbean region as a whole, still a long way from any onset of demographic ageing. But this conclusion relates only to a regional average, in reality in many states ageing of the population is already well underway. Three stages are discernible:

  • Absence of any visible ageing: in this category, the quasi-totality of the American isthmus states (Honduras, Belize, Guatemala, Grenada, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Venezuela, Colombia) as well as Haiti and the Dominican Republic. In these countries, the old age index remains below 20. Most of them are still in the early stage of the demographic transition.
  • First signs of ageing: in these states, an ageing of the population is evident and the old age index oscillates between 20 and 50. The young generally represent between 20% and 30% of the total population, whilst at the opposite end of the age pyramid, the oldest remain between 6% and 10% of the population. Those states at the higher end in this respect include Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Suriname, Jamaica, Bahamas, Montserrat, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
  • Ageing well underway: even though the situation observed as regards ageing across the zone are far from equalling those in Europe, the first signs are in evidence. Aruba, Martinique, Cuba, Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and even Bermuda have hold age indices exceeding 50, the threshold indicating the change in demographic status.

Whilst Haiti remains a long way from showing signs of ageing, which in itself can equally be viewed as representing a successful demographic transition, reflecting significant progress both socially and in sanitary provision, Puerto Rico, her nearby neighbour is the Caribbean country the furthest advanced in terms of an ageing population with around 13.5% in the old age category as compared to 20.5% young people in 2005


Ageing in the Caribbean in 2005

Enlarge

2. Towards an “Old America?”

However, the above observations must include a prospective dimension, because it is tomorrow when the demographic transition will have completed its cycle in most countries of the zone, that the ageing of the population will represent a major issue both politically and socially.

In this respect, UN projections for 2020 emphasise a rapid acceleration in the ageing of populations in countries, which as of now have an old age index of over 50. In these states, the ‘Old Age Index' will soon attain the levels observed in present day in Europe, that is between 80 and 100 plus, with the record held by the American Virgin Islands, with its index reaching over 104. The same islands, equally, will register the highest rate of progression with a gain of nearly 40 points as compared to 2005. The other highest increases will occur in the Dutch Antilles, Barbados, and Cuba. This is not to suggest that other countries indices will not increase, given that only less than ten countries will have an ‘Old Age Index' of under 20. The majority will oscillate between 30 and 40, whilst continuing to register rapid increase.


Ageing in the Caribbean in 2020

Enlarge

These few statistics and projections, covering little more than the next ten years, highlight a different view of a part of the world still considered, and rightly so, as a region with a young demographic.

The general evolution of society, improvements in sanitary and social conditions, progress in economic development and education, even if remaining inadequate in some areas, have allowed the demographic transition to follow its course, but the reverse side of this evolution remains inescapable. The ageing of the Caribbean's population, represents both an important social transformation at the local scale and a major political challenge nationally.

Author: Frédérique Turbout
Translation:  : Louis Shurmer-Smith

top

POPULATION
 
Vieillissement de la population (2005-2020)

 

Il peut paraître inopportun de s'intéresser au vieillissement de la population dans la zone Caraïbe, alors même que certains pays caribéens viennent à peine d'achever leur transition démographique, et que d'autres encore, n'en sont qu'à la deuxième phase transitionnelle. Pourtant, le vieillissement de la population, s'il n'est pas aujourd'hui majeur, peut devenir à court terme une préoccupation essentielle des pouvoirs politiques et des sociétés locales. Les difficultés que connaissent à l'heure actuelle les pays dits développés pour gérer les conséquences immédiates et à plus long terme du vieillissement de leurs structures démographiques est un maigre aperçu de ce qui attend les pays de la zone Caraïbe d'ici une vingtaine d'années, et ce principalement pour deux raisons :

  • Les volumes de population concernés sont pour certains États (Mexique, Colombie) sans communes mesures avec ceux que l'on rencontre dans la déjà "Vieille Europe". Ces volumes importants sont directement hérités de la transition démographique et des hausses de population consécutives à l'entrée dans la première phase (natalité forte et mortalité en baisse rapide).
  • Les systèmes de prise en charge des plus âgés sont peu développés et la gestion de la vieillesse et de la dépendance reste à la charge des familles.

La première des conséquences à long terme du processus de transition démographique est un vieillissement progressif de la population d'un pays, ce que l'on nomme plus communément la phase post-transitionnelle. Les générations nées durant la première phase de la transition fournissent des contingents importants de population qui vont vieillir un jour. Les prévisions de l'UNESCO fin 2000 se voulaient déjà alarmistes "(...) le vieillissement sera spectaculaire dans le monde en développement (...) des pays comme le Brésil, le Mexique, le Nigeria verront leur population de personnes âgées se multiplier par 15 (...)".

1. Situation actuelle

Le vieillissement des structures démographiques dans la zone caraïbe n'en est encore qu'à ses débuts mais d'ores et déjà, il est possible d'identifier des niveaux d'avancement différents en fonction de la prise en compte du poids que représentent les personnes âgées de plus de 64 ans en comparaison des plus jeunes (moins de 14 ans). L'indice de vieillissement issu de ce rapport entre plus jeunes et plus âgés dans la zone caraïbe se situe autour de 28, soit très loin encore de faire apparaître des prémices de vieillissement démographique. Mais il s'agit là d'une moyenne, dans la réalité de nombreux États, le vieillissement est bien souvent en marche. On peut distinguer trois niveaux d'avancement :

  • Absence de vieillissement visible : la quasi totalité des pays de l'isthme américain (Honduras, Belize, Guatemala, Grenade, Guyana, Nicaragua, Guyane, Salvador, Venezuela, Colombie) ainsi que Haïti et la République dominicaine. Dans ces États l'indice de vieillissement ne dépasse pas 20. Ces pays sont pour nombre d'entre eux encore en cours de transition démographique.
  • Premiers signes de vieillissement : dans ces États, le vieillissement est en marche et l'IDV oscille entre 20 et 50. Les jeunes représentent généralement entre 20 et 30 % de la population totale alors qu'à l'opposé de la pyramide des âges, les plus âgés ne dépassent pas entre 6 et 10 % de la population. Sont entre autres concernés par cette situation, Mexique, Costa Rica, Panamá, Suriname, Jamaïque, Bahamas, Montserrat, Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines...
  • Vieillissement en cours : même si les situations observées dans la zone sont loin d'égaler les indicateurs européens en la matière, les premiers signes de vieillissement sont lisibles. Aruba, la Martinique, Cuba, les îes Vierges américaines, Porto Rico ou bien encore les Bermudes ont des indices de vieillissement dépassant le seuil de 50, seuil marquant le passage vers un vieillissement important.

Alors qu'Haïti est encore bien loin de présenter des signes de vieillissement qui seraient d'ailleurs également le reflet d'une transition démographique achevée et donc de gros progrès sanitaires et sociaux réalisés, Porto Rico, son voisin si proche est le pays de la zone le plus avancé en matière de vieillissement de sa population avec près de 13,5 % de personnes âgées pour 20,5 % de jeunes en 2005.


Le vieillissement dans la zone Caraïbe en 2005

Agrandir

2. Vers une "Vieille Amérique" ?

Ces observations doivent cependant intégrer une dimension prospective, car c'est demain, lorsque les processus transitionnels auront pris fin dans la plupart des pays de la zone, que le vieillissement de la population sera un enjeu majeur des politiques et des sociétés locales.

Les prévisions à l'horizon 2020 des Nations Unies dans ce domaine font état d'une accentuation rapide du vieillissement dans des pays qui, d'ores et déjà, affichent un indice de vieillissement supérieur à 50. Dans ces États, l'IDV atteindra les niveaux observés aujourd'hui en Europe, soit entre 80 et plus de 100, le record sera alors détenu par les îles Vierges américaines avec un IDV égal de plus de 104. Ces mêmes îles Vierges enregistreront également la plus forte progression avec un gain de près de 44 points par rapport à 2005. Les autres futures plus fortes progressions seront le fait des Antilles néerlandaises, de Barbade et de Cuba. Ce n'est pas pour autant que les indicateurs des autres pays ne progresseront pas puisque seule une petite dizaine de pays auront un IDV inférieur à 20. La majorité des IDV de la zone oscilleront entre 30 et 40 et connaitront également de forte progression.


Le vieillissement dans la zone Caraïbe en 2020

Agrandir

Ces quelques chiffres et prévisions à l'horizon d'une petite dizaine d'années éclairent d'un autre regard cette zone du monde encore aujourd'hui considérée, et ce à juste titre, comme un espace de jeunes.

Les évolutions des sociétés, les améliorations des conditions sanitaires et sociales et les progrès en matière de développement et d'instruction, même s'ils restent insuffisants par endroit, ont permis au processus de transition démographique d'avoir lieu, mais le revers de cette évolution reste inévitable : le vieillissement de la population caribéenne à plus ou moins long terme. Il s'agit à la fois d'un changement important des sociétés locales et d'un enjeu majeur des politiques nationales.

Auteur : Frédérique Turbout

Haut