A GLOBAL SEA BASIN
 
Contributions towards a dialogue on caribbean migration

 

Migration is an inherent fact of Caribbean society, the autochtonous population having been largely wiped out at the dawn of colonization. Today the diversity within its society appears surprising. The first groups arrived during colonization, followed by others at different stages of national construction in response to the needs of each economic period. Furthermore, as each Caribbean nation took shape, significant in migrations followed from each of the neighbouring countries. So anchored is this central fact in the idiosyncrasy of the Caribbean region, that it suffices to to observe the diversity of the cultural activities to conclude that the mosaic is made up of a web of ties so interwoven as to make it impossible to distinguish the identity of one without reference to the other. This in short is the result of wide-ranging migrations that have not stopped over five centuries. However, it is necessary to make clear that differences exist between each of the migration periods in question.

The first migrants typically comprised the labour force brought in from other continents against their will, whether through slavery or through collective indenture contracts. In all cases, the desires of these workers counted for little, and the opportunities for social and geographical mobility depended exclusively on the plantation owners where the immigrants worked. In this sense, it was a recruitment wholly managed and controlled by the plantation owners, whether as part of the first pro-slavery period, or the second with the appearance of the modern sugar industry. It is crucial to underline that, in contrast to what is the case today, ‘immigrants' at that time were not obliged to meet the conditions that apply today in respect of legal entry; namely being in possession of necessary papers, passports, work permits employment contracts, or other conditions or restrictions existing today. On the other hand, even accepting that the proclamation of the rights man dates from the bourgeois revolutions of the 18th century, it was only in the 1880s of the 19th century that one sees worldwide recognition of human rights, and not until 20th century the rights of immigrant workers in particular. All of this indicates that up until relatively recently, there was no recourse available in law to defend oneself against ad working conditions, or the non-respect of contractual norms so widespread in elsewhere.

In an earlier economic model, capital was invested in peripheral territories which in turn required the necessary labour to be imported. Subsequent variations gradually evolved in line with greater diversity of migrant flows, directed towards either other Caribbean countries or to the metropoles of the colonial power. Depending on which, the demand for foreign labour came either from the overseas territories or, as developed later, these workers were recruited by the home countries themselves. This meant that international capital which initially had turned the Caribbean into a region recruiting immigrant labour, subsequently transformed the latter into a source of emigration, and geared to satisfying the major industrial demands of the North. In other words, those enterprises established from the start across different islands, generated in turn a direct demand for Caribbean workers in situ, as well as from their countries of origin. Against this background, it is worth underlining that the development of migrant flows, in all the cases envisaged here, was not a Caribbean-led initiative, rather these flows were generated in response to the demands of international capital.

Caribbean migration in the 21st century is now evolving in the new context of a globalised world. Intra-Caribbean migration assumes a completely different form, but still shaped by the characteristic traits of the long historical process described above. Today's emigrants have no more been able to influence the actual migrant flows within the region than to invent clandestine immigration. Right up to the present day, emigrants have remained in the mould and traces of the first intra-Caribbean migrations, those that responded to the managerial demands of big capital. What has changed are the directions taken by different nationalities, because neither those emigrating, nor those countries recruiting, are necessarily the same. This is equally the case for certain host countries which have become suppliers of labour, as in the case of the Dominican Republic in relation to the Anglophone West Indies, or Puerto Rico in relation to the Dominican Republic, and so on. In addition, there are the flows of migrants to the European metropoles, of relatively recent date. For example, the largest increase in emigration occurred during the 1970s to the United States and Canada, before a belated switch towards Europe. However in respect of all three destinations, the most important wave of migration took place during the “decade of loss,” the devastating effects of which were felt with such force in those countries that two decades on the negative consequences are still in evidence.

Another significant change lies in the causes of migration. At the outset, it is certainly true that the latter was based on the specific needs of multi-national companies and their countries of origin. Today, it is the Caribbean societies themselves which, because of the structural imbalances of their respective economies, are ‘motu proprio' forcing the departure of a significant proportion of their populations. If it is patently clear that migration continues to be driven by demand on the part of the host countries, it remains no less true that the donor countries benefit from the chance to reduce internal social tensions created by current development strategies. Paradoxically, whilst significant growth is being achieved in certain countries, so too, is an even greater relative increase in poverty. One of the effects of globalization is that a country's population as a whole benefits from a better social environment in respect of individual freedoms, as seen in improved access to information and means of travel. This, in turn, allows would-be emigrants the possibility of more effectively preparing their departures to host countries where extensive social networks in abundance are in place to offer ready support for the move.

Another particularity of the current emigration is the way in which the countries of the greater Caribbean have created an impressive diaspora of transnational societies (in the sense as used by Alejandro Portes). Accordingly, Caribbean countries may exhibit cultural, economic and sometimes even political frontiers internally within these host societies. This transnationality in turn facilitates the development of a common pattern of daily life existing simultaneously in two countries. This mode of organization in the life of the immigrant increases room for negotiation with the authorities, as much in the countries of origin as in the host societies, if only because it concerns a population whose power resides in the possibility of affecting situations either positively or negatively. However, given that today emigration is no longer perceived as being to the benefit of capital, but rather to that of the workers, forceful measures restricting immigration have been imposed. It is now clear that host countries are adopting policies of excessive control when faced with refugees without papers, but which in itself does not address the causes of the problem. Intent on refuting immigration, local citizens employ tactics designed to instil a sense of fear amongst the migrants. In addition, the resurgence of xenophobic groups proclaim an outdated nationalism and chauvinism to justify politically the rejection of immigrants simply because they are foreigners. But the most serious consequence of the emergence of these radical groups is that they can appear in countries which, at the same time as employing foreign labour, are seeing part of their own population emigrating to other countries. The fear of immigration stirred up by these groups has created such a hostile environment that the ensuring ethnic conflicts in some countries may produce ever increasing negative consequences in years to come.

However, for the countries supplying emigrant workers, the latter have become a human resource (albeit ‘excluded' from their country of origin), and once abroad are viewed as indispensable to the homeland left behind. This is not only in terms of remittances sent home by emigrants but also through their social presence and often the political contribution they can make to the host societies. Also recognized, in respect of previously different roles undertaken in their own countries, are the contributions made by these absent nationals in effecting change through their own insertion into global society. It should not be forgotten that in the currently accepted economic model for the service sector, the impact whether positive or negative, does not correspond to a strategy applicable in our own countries. Rather it is consequent on inequalities in economic growth and social exclusion inherent in the model. Hence, this is one reason why host countries need to pay necessary attention to this issue, and to sponsor global accords for managing migrations.

It is clear that, for the Caribbean, this problem has assumed a crucially important place on the political agenda. The countries providing the most emigrant workers, whether across the region or the continent, come from within the Greater Caribbean. At another level, it is worth recognizing that given the manner in which the issue of immigration looms large in the host countries, this in itself has become a decisive factor in inter-state relations. In this sense, the immigration question is of as much concern to donor as to recipient countries. It is time that states put in place an overall policy given that immigration is not only growing uncontrollably, but that it is generating new sets of problems such as:

  • The establishing of measures of control by states;
  • The possession or not of identity papers;
  • The illegal people trafficking;
  • The impact of immigrants within host societies, socially, economically and politically.

From the standpoint of the donor countries, their impact is notable in terms of:

  • The siphoning of labour;
  • The importance of monetary remittances made by nationals abroad;
  • The role of transnational and cultural influences.

For these reasons, it is now time to develop a dialogue that attaches respect to the dignity of immigrants and to the need for a regulatory framework on immigration. For as long as the numbers continue to grow, not least where entry is uncontrolled and illegal, this situation will impinge massively on the mutual security of the countries involved and the people who live in constant exposure to the dangers of human trafficking. The starting point in any regional and global dialogue is the recognition that intra-Caribbean migration is intense, multi-directional, and continually growing. Moreover, as this mobility of peoples is recognized as intrinsic to the very structure of the present society, it is important to see in these migrations a positive contribution in development terms, given that it focuses on social and cultural characteristics central to the identity of the Greater Caribbean.

Author: Ruben Silie Valdez

top

UN BASSIN DU MONDE
 
Eléments pour un dialogue sur la migration caribéenne

 

La migration est un fait intrinsèque de la société caribéenne, puisque la population autochtone a été exterminée à l'aube de la colonisation. Aujourd'hui, la diversité des groupes qui la composent est surprenante. Les premiers sont arrivés durant la colonisation, et par la suite, lors des différentes étapes de la construction nationale pour répondre aux besoins de chaque période économique. Mais de plus, à mesure que chacune des nations caribéennes se structurait, d'importants contingents se mobilisaient pour migrer de pays proches vers ces dernières. Ce fait est tellement ancré dans l'idiosyncrasie de la zone caraïbe, qu'il suffit d'observer la diversité des activités culturelles pour constater que la mosaïque caribéenne se compose d'un écheveau de liens tellement imbriqués qu'il serait impossible de distinguer l'identité des uns sans référence à l'identité des autres. C'est là précisément le résultat de cet ample processus migratoire qui n'a pas cessé durant cinq siècles. Cependant, il convient de montrer qu'il existe des différences entre chacune des périodes migratoires.

Les premiers immigrants avaient la caractéristique d'être des travailleurs, venus d'autres continents et contre leur volonté, soit par le biais de l'esclavage soit par des contrats collectifs. En tout état de cause, la volonté des travailleurs comptait peu, et les possibilités de mobilité sociale et physique dépendaient exclusivement de la volonté des propriétaires des plantations où servaient les immigrants. En un sens, cela revient à dire qu'il s'agissait là d'un recrutement opéré et contrôlé au fur et à mesure par les planteurs, qu'ils aient appartenu à la première période esclavagiste ou à la seconde quand est apparue l'industrie sucrière moderne. Il est très important de signaler, qu'à la différence de ce qui se passe aujourd'hui, les immigrants de ces époques n'étaient pas obligés de remplir des conditions identiques à celles d'aujourd'hui considérée comme étant de l'immigration légale ; c'est-à-dire posséder les papiers nécessaires, des passeports, des permis de travail, des contrats individuels ou d'autres conditions ou restrictions qui existent aujourd'hui. D'un autre côté, s'il est vrai que la proclamation des droits de l'homme a été le résultat des révolutions bourgeoises du XVIIIe siècle, ce n'est que dans les années 1880 que l'on parvint à une reconnaissance mondiale du respect des droits de l'homme, et au XXe siècle des droits des travailleurs immigrés en particulier. Ce qui signifie que jusqu'à ces années-là, l'impossibilité de recourir à la loi pour se défendre des mauvais traitements ou du non-respect des normes contractuelles était monnaie courante dans chacun de nos pays.

Dans le modèle économique d'autrefois, le capital s'installait dans les pays périphériques et il attirait jusqu'à lui les contingents de main-d'œuvre qui lui était nécessaire. Cette situation s'est peu à peu modifiée en se traduisant par un flux plus diversifié, qui pouvait s'orienter soit vers les autres pays de la Caraïbe soit vers les métropoles. Selon le cas, la demande de travailleurs étrangers pouvait se situer dans les territoires ultramarins, ou comme cela est arrivé plus tard, ces travailleurs étaient recherchés par les sociétés métropolitaines. Cela signifie que le capital international qui dans un premier temps avait fait de la Caraïbe un receveur de main-d'œuvre immigrée, l'a par la suite transformée en une source d'émigration, orientée vers la satisfaction de la demande des grandes entreprises du Nord. C'est-à-dire que ces entreprises, installées au début dans les différentes îles, générèrent ensuite une demande directe des travailleurs caribéens sur place et même en direction de leurs territoires originels. A travers ce qui précède, Il nous semble intéressant de souligner que l'ouverture des flux migratoires, dans tous les cas envisagés ici, n'a pas été une initiative des caribéens, mais que ces flux sont apparus pour répondre à la demande générée par le grand capital international.

La migration caribéenne du XXIe siècle se déroule dans le contexte nouveau de la société mondialisée. Les flux migratoires inter-caribéens prennent une forme complètement différente, mais sont structurés par les traits caractéristiques du long processus historique mentionné plus haut. Les émigrants d'aujourd'hui n'ont pas plus ouvert les routes actuelles des migrations dans la zone, qu'ils n'ont inventé l'immigration clandestine. De nos jours, ce que font les émigrants c'est suivre le moule et les traces des premières migrations inter-caribéennes, lesquelles répondaient aux exigences en terme de management du grand capital. Ce qui a changé, c'est la direction que prennent les différentes nationalités, puisque ni ceux qui émigrent, ni les pays d'accueil ne sont nécessairement les mêmes. Cela équivaut, même pour certains pays d'accueil, à devenir des pays émetteurs, comme le montre le cas de la République dominicaine face aux Antilles de langue anglaise, ou de Porto Rico face à la République dominicaine, et ainsi de suite. D'autre part, les flux vers les métropoles sont relativement récents. Par exemple, la principale hausse des flux a eu lieu durant les années 1970 vers les États-Unis et le Canada, pour se consolider avec un peu de retard en direction de l'Europe. Mais vers ces trois destinations, la vague migratoire la plus importante s'est produite pendant la « décennie perdue » dont les effets dévastateurs furent ressentis avec une telle force dans ces pays, que deux décennies plus tard nous continuons à en subir les mauvais effets.

Un autre changement d'importance se retrouve dans les causes des migrations, car s'il est vrai qu'au début elles étaient basées sur les nécessités spécifiques des entreprises multinationales et de leurs pays d'origine, aujourd'hui ce sont les sociétés caribéennes, qui à cause des déséquilibres de leurs économies respectives, expulsent motu proprio un pourcentage élevé de leur population. S'il est patent que la mécanique migratoire continue d'opérer en se fondant sur une demande qui existe dans les sociétés d'accueil, il n'en est pas moins vrai que les pays d'origine trouvent dans cette pratique une opportunité pour diminuer les tensions sociales internes produites par leurs schémas actuels de développement dans lesquels paradoxalement, si l'on atteint des niveaux significatifs de croissance dans certains pays, les niveaux de pauvreté augmentent aussi dans une plus grande mesure. Une des caractéristiques de la mondialisation est que la population en général jouit d'un meilleur environnement pour l'exercice des libertés individuelles et cela se traduit par un meilleur accès à l'information et des facilités de circulation, de sorte que les émigrants ont la possibilité de mieux organiser leurs stratégies de sortie vers les pays d'accueil, où travaillent de surcroit de vastes réseaux sociaux qui leur offrent un soutien pour effectuer leurs déplacements.

Une autre particularité de l'émigration actuelle est que les pays de la grande Caraïbe ont produit une diaspora nombreuse située dans les principaux lieux de destination avec pour conséquence la création de sociétés transnationales (dans le sens de Alejandro Portes). Cette caractéristique fait que les pays de la Caraïbe ont des frontières culturelles, économiques, voire parfois politiques à l'intérieur des sociétés d'accueil. La transnationalité facilite la mise en œuvre de la quotidienneté par le vécu simultané dans les deux pays. Ce mode d'organisation de la vie de l'immigrant augmente sa capacité de négociation avec les autorités, aussi bien dans les sociétés d'origine que dans les sociétés d'accueil, puisqu'il s'agit d'une population dont le pouvoir réside dans la possibilité de générer des processus qui ont des conséquences, positives ou négatives, des deux côtés. Mais aujourd'hui que l'émigration n'est plus une ressource espérée par le capital, mais par les travailleurs, les mesures restrictives contre l'immigration ont été mises en place avec beaucoup de pugnacité. On peut affirmer qu'actuellement les pays d'accueil font face à l'immigration dans une perspective de contrôle excessif basé sur la répression à l'encontre des sans-papiers, mais qui n'influe pas sur les causes du phénomène. Dans le but de réduire l'immigration, il existe chez les citoyens des sociétés d'accueil des mécanismes destinés à créer une atmosphère de peur chez les migrants. S'ajoutant à cela, des groupes xénophobes ressurgissent, porteurs d'un nationalisme éculé qui exalte les chauvinismes pour encadrer politiquement le rejet des immigrés, pour le simple fait qu'ils sont étrangers. Mais le plus grave dans l'apparition de ces groupes radicaux, c'est qu'ils peuvent naître dans des pays qui bien qu'ils emploient de la main-d'œuvre étrangère, voient en même temps une partie de leur population émigrer vers d'autres territoires. La peur de l'immigration fomentée par ces groupes contribue à créer un environnement tellement hostile que dans certains pays se sont produit des confrontations ethniques dont les conséquences négatives pourraient être en augmentation dans les années à venir.

Cependant, pour les pays émetteurs, les émigrants sont devenus une ressource humaine, qui bien qu'exclus de leurs sociétés d'origine, deviennent une fois au-dehors, indispensables à l'économie de ces sociétés. Ceci non seulement par l'envoi de fonds, mais aussi par le poids social et bien souvent politique qu'ils peuvent exercer sur les sociétés d'accueil. Aussi, aujourd'hui, parmi les différents rôles qu'ils occupent dans la société de leurs pays, on reconnaît les nationaux absents comme étant des facteurs qui contribuent au changement pour faciliter l'insertion dans la société globale. N'oublions pas que dans le modèle économique basés sur les services qui prédomine actuellement, les résultats, positifs ou négatifs de l'émigration, ne correspondent pas à une stratégie propre à nos pays, mais qu'ils sont la conséquence des dérives de la croissance économique et de l'exclusion sociale issue de ce modèle économique. C'est là une des raisons qui doit obliger les pays d'accueil à prêter une attention nécessaire au phénomène et à patronner des accords globaux pour la gestion des migrations.

Dans le cas des pays de la Caraïbe, il est clair que c'est un problème qui a pris une grande importance dans l'agenda politique. Nous pourrions affirmer que les pays émetteurs les plus importants, numériquement parlant, tant dans la région qu'au niveau continental, font partie de la grande Caraïbe. Sur un autre plan, il convient de reconnaître qu'au vu de la façon dont les immigrés pèsent sur les pays d'accueil, ils tendent à devenir un facteur décisif dans les relations entre États. Dans ce sens, le thème de l'immigration intéresse tant les pays d'accueil que les pays d'origine. C'est le moment pour les États de mettre en place un traitement autre de la question migratoire, car non seulement l'immigration croit immanquablement, mais elle génère de nouveaux problèmes tels que :

  • La mise en place du contrôle par les États ;
  • La possession ou non de papiers d'identité ;
  • Le trafic et la contrebande d'êtres humains ;
  • Le poids des immigrés à l'intérieur des sociétés d'accueil, du point de vue social, économique et politique.

Si nous nous plaçons dans l'optique des pays émetteurs, leur impact est remarquable sur :

  • Le drainage de main-d'œuvre ;
  • Le poids des transferts monétaires effectués par les résidents à l'étranger ;
  • La transnationalité et l'influence culturelle.

C'est pourquoi nous pensons que l'on doit développer un dialogue qui s'attache au respect de la dignité des immigrants et à la réglementation de l'immigration, car s'il est vrai que le nombre des immigrants ne cesse de croître, tant que cela se produira de manière irrégulière et sans règle, ce sera un facteur préoccupant pour la sécurité mutuelle des pays et celle des personnes qui vivent en étant exposées aux dangers du trafic et de la contrebande d'êtres humains. Le point essentiel pour que la Caraïbe se positionne dans un dialogue sur les migrations à l'échelle régionale et globale, est de reconnaître que les flux intra-caribéens sont intenses, qu'ils s'orientent dans toutes les directions, et que la tendance est à l'augmentation. Mais de plus, comme on reconnaît ce processus de mobilité des personnes comme faisant partie des structures de la société actuelle, il importe de considérer les migrations comme un facteur de développement positif, car il s'agit là d'une caractéristique sociale et culturelle de l'identité de la grande Caraïbe.

Auteur : Ruben Silie Valdez

Haut