THE EVERYDAY
 
Reconstructing Haiti

Haiti, or more precisely the region of Port-au-Prince, destroyed, devastated, with a death toll of certainly over 250 000 people, the exact number will never be known. This represents some 3% of the country’s resident population. One city, the capital encompassing the state’s whole political, economic and administrative infrastructure, is laid waste. The south of the island, around the epicentre is also seriously affected. Jacmel, a UNESCO world heritage site is 80% destroyed, and the towns and villages strung along the peninsula west towards Jamaica in the state of ruin. Coastal subsidence has allowed the invasion of the sea inland, and several villages are now permanently under water. Sickness and injury will increase, as well as rates of mortality.

Figure n° 1:  Effects of the seism of January 12, 2010

Enlarge

Source: Worldpress.

 

The year 2009 was cyclone-free, but recommenced with a vengeance in November 2010 with cyclone Thomas, causing around 20 deaths, to which should be added a further 3 000 individuals, mainly children, due to a cholera epidemic. The earthquake of 12 January 2010, is a general reminder that the Caribbean is one of the regions of the globe plagued by such curses. At this time of writing, Guatemala is being crossed by a tropical hurricane, flooding its low-lying land, a volcano has erupted, with town and countryside covered in ash; whilst in October, landslides would carry away villages in Mexico and Colombia. So just when it seemed (but can one ever be sure?) that Haiti was experiencing better times, the earthquake reduced everything to rubble. How does one rebuild? What does one rebuild? Where does one rebuild?

Far, very far away from Haiti, it seems presumptuous to offer lessons, even advice. But studying the region, as a close observer for more than 35 years, pushes me towards sharing a few thoughts. The topmost priority must be founded on three pillars.

1. A rethought and managed population distribution

Since the earthquake, a number of observers, including it seems, some Haitian politicians have envisaged a reorientation in the distribution of population. Several experts have suggested the development of medium-sized towns, a re-balancing of the existing urban concentrations. In effect, Port-au-Prince, in keeping with most Caribbean capitals, accounts for more than one-third of Haiti’s population (2.7 million inhabitants, but given the ring of shanty towns encircling the central city, this total represents an undoubted under-estimate). This challenge to achieve a better population distribution can only succeed if it is accompanied by a re-peopling of the countryside, at the same time in tandem with the security of their welfare:

  • Security of supplies from the countryside to the towns so that local markets resume their former role. At a time when economising on energy consumption has become a bi-word, there is a need to exploit the advantage of proximity, and accordingly to reactivate, develop, the role of the market towns and medium sized urban centres. In 1998, Kenscoff was still a prospering market gardening region where the altitude permitted with tropical cultivation and temperate zone production of vegetables and fruit (artichokes, peaches, apricots, and obviously lettuces and carrots...). Kenscoff is not the only locality where it is possible to practise market gardening. Today one tends to have forgotten, because of the disasters of recent decades, just how prosperous Artibonite had become has a rice growing region, as well as producing sugar cane and coffee. The development of the road transport network would provide peasant farmers with the secure means for distributing their produce, as long as prohibitive customs tariffs prevented the influx of cheap American maize or wheat from Europe.
  • Security in terms of healthcare and education. Only easy transport access will encourage the diffusion of public dispensaries, often controlled by charitable associations or doctors. The latter, opnly too few in number, are primarily located in the towns. It is also in these market towns that schools have been established. One cannot hope for any improvements in literacy if getting to school each morning remains an odyssey for the rural children.
  • Security of the rural population itself as long as the forces of law and order are not impeded in their response to calls for assistance.
  • Security, finally, of the various goods and supplies provided by the rural artisans, whose extraordinary talents are well known.

Clearly, one would need equally to envisage a dense subsidiary route network connecting the hamlets to the main tarmacked highways. In 1980, the distance between Port-au-Prince to Cap-Haïtien could be covered in 4 to 5 hours. In 1998, after one journey, some drivers were suggesting that the big northern town could not be reached in less than two days. Perhaps that was an exaggeration, but all the same, one had to envisage a journey-time of 14-15 hours. Security wise, the presence of gangs, and the state of the roads prevented driving at night, hence the suggested minimum journey time of two days. Similarly, driving to the southern-most point of the island, or western-most, represented a real expedition. It was only five days after the earthquake that the first reports became available from the towns of the southwest: as for visual images, these were distributed some seven days later. A network of effective communications becomes a basic land management requirement. The populations who fled Port-au-Prince in the days following the earthquake will only remain in the countryside if the latter is seen to experience real development guaranteeing supplies of food, sanitation, and other human needs for those opting to stay.

2. A just management of the environment

This second pillar of any reconstruction would constitute a veritable regional rescue plan. Nothing is more impressive in this regard than overflying Hispaniola. The frontier is visible from an altitude of 8 000 metres: to the East, a bleak landscape more or less covered in forest, to the West, a desert, the exposed soil and the deep ravines lining the flanks of the mountains.

 

Figure n° 2: The problem of deforestation in Haiti
Enlarge
On the left, Haiti and effects of deforestation; in the centre, the border; on the right, the Dominican Republic.
Source: Worldpress, NASA.

 

Before the point is reached where only rock surfaces remain on which nothing will grow, forests will need to be replanted. Such strategies have been undertaken in other parts of the world, prompted by both national institutes and above all the NGO in association with local actors: in this respect, both Madagascar and India provide exemplary successes, albeit still at an embryonic stage. In Haiti, reforestation schemes are underway in several zones. A number of NGOs and international institutions have intervened, but there is a lack of coordination in the actions taken, and especially in the involvement of the Haitians themselves. The Caribbean region affords some examples of solid experience in the management of forests, whether in Costa Rica, Cuba, or in the Lesser Antilles like Dominica, Martinique, or Guadeloupe. One can also record that numerous island societies have survived, and thrived, thanks to the coconut palm, mango tree, or breadfruit. All that species demand little in upkeep, apart from during the early years when the young shoots require protection from predators. Now the Haitian peasants are familiar with, manage, and understand the value of these species. Many rural houses are surrounded by these trees, which provide a source of food in addition of the banana tree. It is from such a knowledge base that a systematic replanting can be successfully undertaken. Providing direct aid to the farmers is one of the possible ways forward. Reforestation should also be planned using both quick-growing-tree species (Nicaragua Pine), and those more slow growing: specialists are present in the region, and nurseries plentiful.

In order to succeed, the reforestation plan must necessarily mobilise the Haitians themselves. Several mayors of Haitian communes, at a meeting held in Fort-de-France during the latter part of April 2010 regretted that a number of projects had proceeded without their involvement. The councillors themselves are capable of mobilising the support of the inhabitants, organising reforestation schemes involving specialists in tropical forestry, as well as the NGOs and other foundations. They are best placed to engage young pupils and other adolescents in large-scale campaigns for reforestation.

Reforestation will not prove effective unless it offers the possibility to poorer sections of the population of using alternative sources of fuel to cook meals. One Haitian social evil has centered on trade in timber (exports, for example, of logwood to the USA) as well as the production of charcoal, which remains the sole source of fuel for millions of Haitians who live on less than a dollar a day, and also is a source of income for the peasantry. Reforestation must be accompanied by access to butane or propane gas, at a manageable cost (comparable, say, to that of charcoal). If the monetary aid received in the aftermath of the earthquake could serve to create a market for a gas alternative, then reforestation might be viewed as a realisable project. The commercial organisation of such a network is complex, and is why the rebuilding of road transport links and reforestation must proceed in tandem. Suffice it to say, that the stockpiling of gas, its maintenance and distribution will create in itself trades, training and jobs in an island that has need of them.

3. The stakes over drinking water supply

The above notes initially date back to February 2010, and were further expanded in November 2010. The problem of over drinking water supply brutally come to a head again in September 2010, during the rainy season, with the onset of a cholera epidemic, a fear that had been ever present since the earthquake, even though Haiti had been spared during similar cataclysmic events in its history from the multiple ravages caused by the cholera bacillus. Port-au-Prince is still in ruins: the roads are stoved in, the debris yet to be removed, a large part of the population still housed in tents, or ad hoc shelters that cannot resist violent rains. The drinking water supply and distribution systems, already inefficient, were affected by the earthquake. That for evacuating wastewater was already virtually inoperable. The town in large part was built on mangrove and marshy swamp, poorly drained, with the stagnant water favouring microbic proliferation. This epidemic sadly had something ineluctable about it, even though there are those who suggest it was brought in by Nepalese soldiers from MINUSTAH (United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti). Nepal has suffered cholera outbreaks in recent years. With the wastewater outlets virtually non-existent in Port-au-Prince and even less so in the smaller agglomerations, the effluent of the troops ended up in the Artibonite.

Reconstructing, indeed in some cases constructing anew piped water distribution and sewage networks, remains a priority. The problems posed by the cost of water is an ever present issue. Already in 2000, the civic authorities in the capital had decided to impose water charges. Poor inhabitants responded by piercing the main supply pipes, and water flowed freely in the town’s streets. What solution could there be in such a situation? Would it be cheaper to freely accessible public water fountains? It is a debate that the inhabitants and authorities, as well as international organisations need to engage with. But Haiti will only succeed in its rebuilding programme if its inhabitants are willing to work, and have the energy for what promises to be a long and arduous combat in terms of redevelopment.

For the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), it would seem that here is a real project for cooperation, that this organisation is well-placed to seek international engagement, in order to find the necessary funding over the next 10 to 15 years in order to help the political leadership in question to embrace the necessary structural reforms.

Author: Monique Bégot
Translation:  : Louis Shurmer-Smith

top

AU FIL DES JOURS
 
Reconstruire Haïti
Quelques pistes de réflexion

 

Haïti, ou plus exactement la région de Port-au-Prince, détruite, ravagée, sans doute plus de 250 000 morts ; le nombre ne sera jamais connu de manière précise. Cela représente près de 3 % de la population résidant dans le pays. Une ville, la capitale et donc les infrastructures politiques, économiques, administratives du pays, est à terre. Le Sud de l'île, autour de l'épicentre a lui aussi été gravement touché. Jacmel, la ville classée patrimoine de l'UNESCO est détruite à 80 % et les villes et villages de la longue bande de terre qui pointe à l'ouest vers la Jamaïque sont dans le même état. Des affaissements côtiers ont provoqué l'envahissement de la mer et quelques villages se trouvent sous l'eau durablement. Les maladies et les blessures augmenteront ainsi que le taux de mortalité.

 

Figure n° 1 :  Les effets du séisme du 12 janvier 2010

Agrandir

Source : Worldpress.

2009 fut une année sans cyclone, mais à nouveau en novembre 2010 le cyclone Thomas ravage l'île, provoque la mort d'une vingtaine de personnes auxquelles il faut ajouter les décès de près de 3 000 individus, surtout des enfants, dus à une épidémie de choléra ; le séisme du 12 janvier 2010 rappelle à tous que la Caraïbe est une des grandes zones du globe soumises à quelques grands fléaux : au moment où ces réflexions sont reprises, le Guatemala est traversé par une tempête tropicale qui inonde les basses terres, un volcan entre en activité, et les villes et les campagnes sont recouvertes de cendre; en octobre des glissements de terrain importants emportent des villages au Mexique et en Colombie. Alors même qu'il semblait que Haïti (mais est-ce bien sûr ?) connaissait un léger mieux, le séisme met tout à terre. Comment construire ? Que reconstruire ? Où reconstruire ?

Loin, bien loin d'Haïti, il est présomptueux de vouloir donner des leçons, voire des conseils. Mais l'étude de la région, une observation attentive depuis plus de 35 ans, nous pousse à livrer quelques réflexions. La priorité des priorités repose à notre avis sur trois piliers.

1. Une accessibilité repensée et maîtrisée

Depuis le séisme, nombre d'observateurs et, semble t-il, de politiques haïtiens envisagent une réorientation de la distribution de la population. Plusieurs experts ont suggéré un développement des villes moyennes, un rééquilibrage des concentrations urbaines. En effet, Port-au Prince comme beaucoup de capitales de la Caraïbe a capté plus du tiers de la population haïtienne (2,7 millions d'habitants, mais au regard de la population des bidonvilles qui ceinturent le centre, sans doute ce chiffre était-il sous-estimé). Ce pari d'une meilleure répartition de la population ne peut réussir que s'il s'accompagne d'une reconquête des campagnes et donc si la sécurité est assurée :

  • Sécurité des approvisionnements des campagnes vers les villes pour que les marchés locaux reprennent leur place. A l'heure où l'on parle d'économie d'énergie, il faudrait jouer sur la proximité et donc réactiver, enrichir les marchés des bourgs et des villes moyennes. En 1998, Kenscoff était encore une belle région maraîchère où l'altitude permettait à la fois des cultures tropicales, mais aussi la production de légumes et de fruits de la zone tempérée (artichauts, pêches, abricots et bien sûr salades et carottes…). Kenscoff n'est pas la seule région où il soit possible de pratiquer une agriculture de jardinage. On a oublié aujourd'hui, devant les désastres de ces dernières décennies, combien l'Artibonite fut une riche zone rizicole et productrice de canne et de café. Ce développement du réseau routier, c'est la certitude pour le paysan d'écouler sa production, à condition toutefois que des tarifs douaniers prohibitifs empêchent l'invasion à bas coûts du maïs américain ou du blé d'Europe.
  • Sécurité de soins et d'éducation. Seuls des déplacements aisés permettront de rallier les dispensaires, souvent tenus par des associations caritatives ou des médecins. Ces derniers, trop peu nombreux, sont d'abord installés dans les villes. C'est aussi dans les bourgs que sont installées les écoles. On ne peut espérer une diminution de l'analphabétisme si atteindre l'école est chaque matin une épopée pour les enfants des campagnes.
  • Sécurité si les forces de l'ordre et les secours ne rencontrent pas d'obstacles devant eux pour assurer leurs missions.
  • Sécurité, enfin, pour les marchandises et objets divers, produits par des artisans du monde rural dont on connaît l'extraordinaire habileté.

Sans doute, faudra t-il envisager un réseau maillé allant des grandes voies asphaltées à des pistes carrossables qui desservent les hameaux. En 1980, la distance Port-au-Prince–Cap Haïtien était couverte en 4 ou 5 heures. En 1998, lors d'un dernier passage, certains avançaient le fait que l'on ne pouvait atteindre la grande ville du Nord qu'en deux jours ; peut-être cela était-il un peu exagéré, mais à tout le moins fallait-il envisager une durée de 14 à 15 heures. L'insécurité due à la présence de gangs, l'état de la route, interdisaient de circuler la nuit, d'où la durée du trajet et les deux jours avancés. De même atteindre la pointe sud, extrême occidentale est une vraie expédition. Ce n'est que cinq jours après le séisme que les premières informations en provenance des villes du sud-ouest sont parvenues ; les images, elles, ont été diffusées sept jours après. Un réseau de voies de communication performant, c'est une vraie maîtrise du territoire. Les populations qui ont quitté Port-au Prince dans les jours qui ont suivi le séisme, ne resteront dans les campagnes que si celles-ci connaissent un réel développement et garantissent la sécurité alimentaire, sanitaire, humaine, des populations qui y sont installées.

2. Une gestion raisonnée de l'environnement

Ce deuxième pilier de la reconstruction constituerait un vrai plan de sauvetage du territoire. Rien n'est plus impressionnant qu'un survol d'Hispaniola. La frontière est visible de 8 000 mètres d'altitude : à l'Est, des mornes couverts plus ou moins de forêts, à l'Ouest, un désert : le sol à nu et des ravinements profonds le long des flancs des montagnes.

 

Figure n° 2 : Le problème de la déforestation en Haïti

Agrandir

 À gauche, Haïti et les effets de la déforestation ; au centre, la frontière ; à droite, la République dominicaine.
Source : Worldpress, NASA.

Avant qu'il ne reste que des plaques rocheuses sur lesquelles rien ne peut pousser, il faudrait réimplanter les forêts. Cet effort a été entrepris dans d'autres régions du monde à la fois sous l'impulsion d'institutions nationales, et surtout d'ONG associées à des acteurs locaux : Madagascar et l'Inde connaissent des réussites exemplaires, bien qu'encore embryonnaires. En Haïti, des expériences de reboisement sont en cours dans plusieurs secteurs. Nombre d'ONG et d'institutions internationales interviennent, mais il manque une coordination de ces actions et surtout l'implication des Haïtiens eux-mêmes. La zone caraïbe a une solide expérience de la gestion des forêts, que ce soit au Costa Rica, à Cuba, ou dans les Petites Antilles comme la Dominique, la Martinique ou la Guadeloupe. On sait aussi que de nombreuses sociétés insulaires ont survécu, vécu grâce au cocotier, au manguier, et à l'arbre à pain ; toutes ces espèces ne demandent que peu d'entretien, hormis les premières années pendant lesquelles il faut protéger les jeunes pousses de prédateurs. Or, les paysans haïtiens connaissent, maîtrisent, savent la valeur de ces espèces. De nombreuses habitations sont entourées de ces arbres qui contribuent à l'alimentation, en association avec le bananier. C'est à partir de ces savoirs qu'une reconquête systématique peut être efficace. Aider les agriculteurs est une des voies possibles. Le reboisement devrait aussi s'envisager à partir d'espèces arborées à pousse rapide (pin du Nicaragua) et de spécimens qui croissent plus lentement ; les spécialistes existent dans la région, et les pépinières sont nombreuses.

Pour réussir, un plan de reboisement devra obligatoirement mobiliser les Haïtiens. Plusieurs maires de communes haïtiennes, lors de la réunion qui s'est tenue à Fort-de-France dans la deuxième quinzaine du mois d'avril 2010, ont regretté que nombre de projets se construisent sans eux. Les édiles communaux sont à même de mobiliser les populations, d'organiser les reboisements, associés à des spécialistes de la forêt tropicale, et à des ONG ou des fondations. Ce sont eux qui peuvent engager les jeunes élèves et adolescents dans de vastes campagnes de reboisement.

Le reboisement ne sera effectif que si on donne la possibilité aux couches pauvres de la population d'utiliser d'autres sources d'énergies pour cuire les repas. La plaie d'Haïti a été le commerce du bois (exportations par exemple, du bois de campêche à destination des États-Unis) ainsi que la fabrication du charbon de bois, et c'est encore l'unique source d'énergie pour les millions de Haïtiens qui vivent avec moins de un dollar par jour et c'est une source de revenu pour les paysans. Le reboisement doit être accompagné d'un accès au gaz butane ou propane, à un coût supportable (à mettre en parallèle avec le coût du charbon de bois ; si les sommes qui ont été récoltées au moment du séisme peuvent servir à créer un marché du gaz, on pourra envisager le reboisement comme un projet réalisable). L'organisation commerciale de ce réseau est complexe et c'est pourquoi réhabilitation des voies de communication et reboisement doivent aller de pair. Ajoutons que stockage du gaz, conditionnement et distribution créeront des métiers et des emplois dans une île qui en a besoin.

3. L'enjeu de l'eau potable

Ces notes ont été, dans un premier temps écrites en février 2010 et reprises en novembre 2010. Le problème de l'eau potable a ressurgi brutalement en septembre 2010, lors de la saison des pluies, avec le développement d'une épidémie de choléra, crainte qui était présente depuis le séisme bien qu'Haïti ait été épargné au cours des différents cataclysmes de son histoire par de multiples ravages dus au vibrion cholérique. Port-au-Prince est encore sous les décombres : les rues sont défoncées, les gravats n'ont pas été évacués, une grande partie de la population vit encore sous les tentes ou des abris de fortune qui ne peuvent résister à des pluies violentes. Le système d'approvisionnement en eau, déjà peu efficace, a été affecté par le séisme. Celui d'évacuation des eaux usées étaient encore plus inopérant. La ville est construite en grande partie sur des sols à mangrove, marécageux à l'écoulement difficile ; les eaux stagnantes favorisent la prolifération microbienne. Cette épidémie avait malheureusement quelque chose d'inéluctable même si l'on avance que le choléra aurait été apporté par des soldats népalais de la MINUSTAH (Mission des Nations Unies pour la Stabilisation en Haïti). Le Népal a été affecté ces dernières années par le choléra ; le réseau d'eaux usées n'existant pas à Port-au-Prince et a fortiori dans les agglomérations de moindre importance, les déjections des troupes ont été rejetées dans l'Artibonite.

Reconstruire, voire dans certains cas, construire des réseaux de distribution et d'évacuation des eaux reste donc une priorité. Le problème du coût de l'eau se pose. Déjà en 2000, les autorités de la capitale avaient décidé de rendre l'accès à l'eau payant ; les habitants pauvres ont alors percé des trous dans les canalisations, l'eau coulait à grand débit dans les rues de la ville. Quelle solution, dans ces conditions ? Reviendrait-il moins cher de rendre les bornes fontaines gratuites ? C'est un débat que les habitants et les administrations ainsi que les organisations internationales doivent engager. Mais Haïti ne se relèvera que si les populations sont aptes au travail et ont l'énergie pour engager un combat long et difficile pour le développement.

Il nous semble que pour l'AEC, il y aurait là un vrai projet de coopération, que cette organisation serait à même de convaincre au niveau international et de trouver les financements nécessaires pour les 10 à 15 ans à venir, d'aider la classe politique à engager les réformes de structure nécessaires.

Auteur : Monique Bégot

Haut