CULTURE AND ARTS
 
UNESCO listed heritage sites (2012)

 

The Caribbean basin, crucible of civilisations, with its nature reserve of exceptional fauna and flora, and over-abundance of historical, architectural and landscape riches.

The designation as UNESCO sites of World Heritage of 79 of its most beautiful sites beers impressive testimony of this richness. An exhaustive inventory reveals a great variety, stretching from pre-history to the post-colonial. 56 cultural sites are thus listed and protected within the region.

Enlarge

 

The different civilisations and peoples who settled, transformed, and exploited these localities (Mayas, Aztecs, Arawaks, Tainos, and more recently different colonising settlers) equally left their imprint on both town and countryside.

The geological complexity laid down in the physical formation of the basin offers a variety of landscapes in which an extraordinary richness in terms of fauna and flora is found: rare tropical species, some adapted to their particular milieu, occasionally unique in the world, among the many examples.

The listed natural sites are numerous: 22 in total stretching from Florida with its Everglades National Park to the Central Suriname Nature Reserve, by way of Talamanca Range-La Amistad Reserves astride the frontier between Panama and Costa Rica.

 

Enlarge

 

The Greater Antilles are no less important with around 18 listed sites. Cuba is home to half of these with its balanced distribution of both natural and cultural sites, such as the Old Town of Havana, or the Historic Centre of Cienfuegos, and natural sites such as the karstic terraces of the Desembarco del Granma National Park. The Lesser Antilles boast 5 designated sites displaying traces of past riches in military architecture or historic urban centres, with two focusing more particularly on the management and conservation of tropical ecosystems (fauna, flora, volcanic legacies, hydrography, lacustrine as well as marine environments, and coral reefs.

Across the isthmus and the countries of South America bordering the Caribbean basin, Mexico stands out with its number of listed sites (31 out of 61 sites outside the Greater and Lesser Antilles). Many amongst them reflect the history of the country and its rich architectural heritage (more than half relating to pre-Hispanic towns or historic urban centres). The central part of the isthmus is particularly renowned for its important natural sites: now national parks and zones delimited to protect the biosphere exist in numbers side by side. The topography associated with active volcanism stands apart as a special zone dedicated to Caribbean fauna and flora.

Amongst the listed 79 sites in the Caribbean basin, six are deemed to be at risk amongst which 4 are natural sites:

    • Everglades National Park (USA);
    • Belize Barrier Reef Reserve System, home to several species at risk, such as the sea turtle, the manatee (sea cow), and the American crocodile;
    • Los Katíos National Park (Columbia), home to more than 500 different species of vertebrate;
    • Río Plátano Biosphere Reserve (Honduras), the vestige of a humid, tropical forest, home to some 2 000 native people living a traditional ways of life;
    • Fortifications on the Caribbean Side of Panama: Portobelo-San Lorenzo, part of the defence system built by the Spanish Crown to protect transatlantic trade (17th and 18th century military architecture);
    • Coro and its Port (Venezuela), one of the very first colonial towns of earth construction inherited from a local architectural tradition, and displaying both Spanish and Dutch influences.

 

Enlarge

 

The inscription for each site listed as being “of exceptional universal value,” and as such part of the World Heritage of the planet is a pledge of protection and preservation. Out of 193 member states of the UN, 189 ratified the UNESCO World Heritage Convention. Each accordingly actively participates in the conservation and preservation of its UNIESCO listed heritage

Author: Frédérique Turbout
Translation:  : Louis Shurmer-Smith

top

CULTURE ET ARTS
 
Patrimoine classé UNESCO (2012)

 

Le bassin caraïbe, creuset de civilisations, réserves de faune et flore exceptionnelles, regorge de richesses historiques, architecturales et paysagères.

Le classement au patrimoine de l'UNESCO de 79 de ses plus beaux sites en est un formidable témoignage. L'inventaire exhaustif de ces sites révèle une grande variété, s'échelonnant de la préhistoire à la période postcoloniale. 56 sites culturels sont ainsi classés et protégés dans la zone.

Agrandir

 

Les différentes civilisations et peuples qui ont occupés, aménagés et exploités ces espaces (Mayas, Aztèques, Arawaks, Taïnos et plus récemment, les différents colonisateurs) ont également marqué de leurs empreintes les villes et les campagnes.

La complexité géologique héritée de la mise en place du bassin offre une variété de paysages dans lesquels s'exprime une richesse extraordinaire en termes de faune et de flore : essences tropicales rares, espèces adaptées au milieu, parfois uniques au monde, en sont quelques exemples.

Les sites naturels classés sont donc nombreux : 22 au total allant de la Floride avec le Parc National des Everglades jusqu'à la Réserve naturelle du Suriname central en passant par la Cordillère de Talamanca/La Amistad à cheval sur la frontière entre Panamá et le Costa Rica.

 

Agrandir

 

Les Antilles ne sont pas en reste avec près de 18 sites classés. Cuba abrite la moitié de ces sites avec une répartition équitable entre sites naturels et culturels, tels que la vieille ville de la Havane ou le Centre historique de Cienfuegos et des sites naturels témoignant de l'activité agricole passée ou de la richesse des paysages géologiques telles les terrasses karstiques du Parc National Desembarco del Granma (16). Les Petites Antilles accueillent cinq sites classés ; trois ayant trait à la richesse architecturale d'édifices militaires ou de centres urbains et deux plus particulièrement axés sur la gestion et la préservation du milieu tropical (faune, flore, éléments du volcanisme, hydrographie, patrimoine lacustre, espace maritime et récifs coralliens).

Dans l'isthme et dans les pays d'Amérique du Sud bordant le bassin caraïbe, le Mexique s'illustre par le nombre de sites classés (31 sur 61 sites hors Grandes et Petites Antilles). Nombre d'entre eux sont le reflet de l'histoire du pays et de sa richesse architecturale (près de la moitié concerne des villes préhispaniques ou des centres historiques de villes). La partie centrale de l'isthme est le lieu privilégié des sites naturels d'importance ; parcs nationaux et zones de protection de la biosphère s'y côtoient en nombre. Le relief associé à un volcanisme actif en fait une zone privilégiée pour la faune et la flore caribéenne.

Parmi les 79 sites classés dans le bassin caribéen, six sont en péril et parmi eux quatre sont des sites naturels :

    • Le Parc National des Everglades (États-Unis) ;
    • Le réseau de réserves du récif de la barrière du Belize, abritant des espèces menacées telles que la tortue marine, le lamantin et le crocodile marin d'Amérique ;
    • Le Parc National de los Katíos (Colombie) qui abrite plus de 500 espèces différentes de vertébrés ;
    • La réserve de biosphère Río Plátano (Honduras), vestige de forêt tropicale humide abritant quelques 2 000 indigènes au mode de vie traditionnel ;
    • Les fortifications de la côte Caraïbe du Panamá : Portebelo, San Lorenzo, partie du système défensif mis en place par la Couronne d'Espagne pour protéger le grand commerce transatlantique (architecture militaire des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles) ;
    • Coro et son port (Venezuela), une des toutes premières villes coloniales aux constructions en terre héritées de la culture architecturale locale et de l'influence espagnole et néerlandaise.

Agrandir

L'inscription de sites reconnus comme ayant « une valeur universelle exceptionnelle » et appartenant de ce fait au patrimoine mondial de la planète est un gage de protection et de préservation. Sur les 193 États membres de l'ONU, 189 ont ratifié la Convention du Patrimoine de l'UNESCO. Ils s'engagent ainsi à participer activement à la conservation et la préservation de leur patrimoine inscrit auprès de l'UNESCO.

Auteur : Frédérique Turbout

Haut